We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, makes you feel at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Certificate of Excellence
sweetiedopey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, makes you feel at home!”
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Came to kirkcaldy for an exam and hoped to have a quiet room to study, and got more than I hoped for! The gem of this charming hotel is its brilliant staff, they were very friendly and accomodating (with extra lamp and free wireless internet). All the staff were exceedingly supportive for its guests. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a treat and with a wide selection. Great location - everything within walking distance including the town centre and the train station. Miss kirkcaldy and the Victoria Hotel dearly!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiedopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    67
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
45
36
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Stayed at the Victoria hotel for one night.

There’s not much choice of hotels in Kirkcaldy and I suspect that the Victoria is as good as you can get.

It’s a fairly small hotel and although clean and freshly decorated is old fashioned. It’s about a 10 minute walk from the station and the sea front.

I had a single room, which was quite narrow and L shaped because of the shower / loo etc which was installed within the room.

It was clean – there was a TV but I could not manage to get it to work. There was a small comfortable bed, but the duvet was very small so it was difficult to keep it on all night.

The bathroom was clean with a shower.

The room had free web access – I understand some rooms in the hotel don’t get this because of their location.

I had an evening meal in the hotels restaurant – was not very impressed – the soup was OK – had a chicken Italian dish which was tasteless and a chocolate gateau which had artificial cream.

The breakfast was freshly cooked and very good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is certainly ok for a nights stay but would not want to stay for longer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jclynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed for two nights at the victoria hotel in february 2010. I initially booked for one night but when I realised I could travel a day earlier I rang the reception to increase the length of my stay and they couldn`t have been more helpful. Although I arrived just before midnight the staff who greeted me were polite and considerate and the night porter who also worked in the hotel bar was friendly and chatty. Breakfast was superb. Plenty of it and freshly cooked to order with a good choice of dishes. I attended a function at the hotel and the hospitality shown to everyone by the hotel staff could not be faulted. The cost of staying at the victoria resulted in excellent value for money, and the single room I had, although slightly small, was clean, comfortable and because of the quiet location of the hotel enabled me to sleep soundly each night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accomodation in kirkcaldy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockyatwigston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I have just spent 6 night at the Victoria Hotel as I was visiting a very poorly relative in the nearby hospital. The staff were more than friendly - they were genuinely caring and asked every day about my hospital visits and could not do enough for me.

The rooms are lovely and clean and more than adequate if not luxurious. The food is truly wonderful and the Chef(s) clearly know their stuff. A tiny criticism would be that the restuarant music should be turned a bit lower and the tape changed now and again but I am nit-picking.

This is a good quality hotel with a welcoming and helpful staff who understand the concept of a 'guest' and treat them well and with kindness. I loved my stay and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_J51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Myself and Partner attended a function last night in the newly refurbished function suite at The Victoria Hotel. The meal was excellent and the staff were very polite and helpful.
We could not pick out a single fault throughout the whole evening and we will deffinately be returning to The Victoria Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My wife and i at least 2 to 3 times a month have a high tea at the hotel. On our last visit, 29/10/09, i had booked a table for 6.15pm. We arrived at the hotel at 6.10pm and purchased a drink from the bar, informing the manager/head waiter of our booking. He informed us menus would be brought to our table in the bar, in order to choose our meal. 10 minutes later i had to ask for the menus, we sat for a further 15 minutes waiting for our order to be taken, when this was not forthcoming, i informed the member off staff we would be cancelling our booking, his response and attitude was of indifference. The standard of service was shocking to say the least, i for one will not be visiting this hotel again, not exactly the way to treat a regular customer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasusscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Again a pleasure to stay at this friendly Hotel.
1st stayed here 5 years ago and its great to see it has not changed and still offers good value for money.
Breakfast was very tasty the rooms are clean and fresh , staff cant do enough for you so all in a 10/10 for the Victoria Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getalifeliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
2.3 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
254 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
252 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 28 Victoria Road, Kirkcaldy KY1 1DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Kirkcaldy Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing