We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst high teas in kirkcaldy.”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Meal was meant to be a special. Fish cakes were minus any fish!!. Frozen chips not real potatoes and cold soggy veg. The tiny scones were brick hard like they had lay iut for hours. The choice of cakes was dreadful. Other tableshad great choice of cakes so maybe regulars get better choice. This was the most expensive high tea we have had in recent months and also worst tasting.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank angelina99900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only stayed here for one night as we had attended a function there. The room was excellent, roomy, very comfortable bed, had everything we needed; roomy bathroom with pleasant toiletries and all spotlessly clean
High tea is incredible........ the main course was not for the faint-hearted ( sizewise) and was delicious and well-cooked. Plus tea ( lots of it), toast and then, if that wasn't enough- delicious cakes and scones. This is real Scotland!
Breakfast was excellent - wonderful selection - we had the "full monty" and that really set us up for the rest of the day. Everything was piping hot and well-cooked and presented.
Staff in the restaurant, bar and reception were friendly, welcoming and efficient and the whole hotel was gleaming and very well kept, considering the age of the original house,
All-in-all, a very pleasant experience and we shall repeat, when next in the area, and would recommend the hotel to fellow travellers.
Stay here if considering Edinburgh visit- the railway station is just up the road, trains regular and cost effective - much better than trying to park in the city. There is ample off road parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3 - well appointed and spacious.It is situated on the front of the hotel, but we did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppenny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were recommended to try out the Sunday High tea at the Victoria. Surroundings pleasant and lounge bar warm and inviting Staff very helpful and great atmosphere. It was busy as it was the end of halfterm holiday and lots of family groups in.
Service was good and meal was generous-plain fare but well presented

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Scottie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Victoria Hotel for two days on our trip through England and Scotland. We fell in love with the room and the town and the people. The staff at the Victoria were so very helpful and friendly we feel as if we have a friend for life in them. They were very knowledgeable about the area and assisted us whenever they could.. Carol, the front desk person was exceptionally helpful, Cudo's to you Carol for a job well done. Beautiful motel, clean, spacious, and friendly. What more could you ask for

Room Tip: get room # 3. It's the best, but don't book it when I'm coming back. That's my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were recommended to eat here by the B&B. However service was very slow. In fact we had to cancel the sweet as after 30 minutes it wasn't coming soon. Think they may have had staffing problems.

The main meal whilst okay was small in quantity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was very good value. Staff were friendly, service was excellent and food was good - and portions were enormous. The en suite room had a hair-drier, iron and ironing board - and a trouser press. When I needed to sew back on a trouser button (no doubt because of the large breakfasts!) a needle and thread were quickly produced with a friendly smile, the receptionist even threading the needle for me when I explained I have physical difficulty doing so.

During my week's stay towels and bedding were changed regularly and were sparkling white. The hotel was clean but perhaps there could have been more attention to detail - scuffed skirting boards where the vacuum had rubbed.

The original panelling and fireplace in the dining room and the stained glass window upstairs are interesting features. I will definitely stay here when I am in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyfren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have friends living in Kirkcaldy. As family have expanded we decide to stay in an hotel. For our last four out of five vists over last several years(as they were full on one) we stay at the Victoria.
The welcome is warm and not over friendly but just right. Staff cannot do enough to make sure your stay is as you wish it to be. Our friends on one occassion had their 25th wedding anniversary party there, the function room was prepared as they wanted it be, food was excellent and the band spectacular. Again the staff were so wonderful.(we are biased i suppose as my husbands Dad was Scottish, so its in the blood and we are proud to have a clan)
Back to the hotel, Food is absolutely superb, and again the staff and the behind the scenes staff catered to your preference.Excellent.
The rooms are warm and welcoming, clean and your room is truned down daily and courtesy tray always replenished and good choice. Slept really well on every visit. Our two daughters are always lucky enough to have the twin room at the front. There has always been a traditional scottish wedding pipers and all on the saturday during our stays, so they get to see it and we get to hear it. My husband and i absolutely adore the sound of the bagpipes, so this time we sat and watched the arrival and the couple being piped in. Thers is nothing like it. Had goose bumps. Obviuos to say we are going back. its such a popular hotel that we are already trying to book for next August as one of friends is 50yrs. ooh and you have to book for High tea... just perfect....By the way the surrounding area, town we do enjoy. Lots of history or whatever you choose to do.

Room Tip: Not saying in case you booking same time and we want that room. sorry we have our favourites....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moira b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcaldy
2.3 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beveridge Park Hotel
The Beveridge Park Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
266 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
289 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
577 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 28 Victoria Road, Kirkcaldy KY1 1DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kirkcaldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkcaldy
Price Range: $80 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Kirkcaldy Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing