We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back on form!”
Review of New Maxin

New Maxin
Ranked #20 of 127 Restaurants in Kirkcaldy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Kirkcaldy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back on form!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After this restaurant changed hands we felt the standards dropped but am happy to report that we enjoyed a beautiful meal yesterday, with delicious food, served promptly by friendly staff. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJM937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

There were four of us went here and none of the meals were good, the prawn curry was bland and rubbery and the chicken was tasteless we asked for tins of coke and lemonade. It came in a little vase flat after complaining we saw the waiter running across the road to the diner for cans of coke quiet funny but still wont be back

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyrae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Like another here I felt I had to add a review to counter some of what has been said. We ate their tonight. staff were friendly, service was prompt and friendly, plenty of attentive staff, food was very good, bottled beer is £3-50 so had a large glass of Merlot instead for £4. Very nice Merlot indeed, convinced me to have a second. All in all a very nice meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food in great surroundings....”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to Maxin after a matinee Panto at Adam Smith. Oh yes we did.... I had read the reviews and was a bit worried that we were going to be a bit underwhelmed...... However, there were 7 of us, 4 adults and 3 kids and our meal from start to end was brilliant. Really good and stand out were the crispy squid starter, shredded chicken and the emperor prawns. Service was warm and friendly, restaurant busy enough and our food was the best Chinese I have eaten for a long time. My parents. Wife and kids were also suitably impressed, I don't normally take time to write reviews on restaurants but given some of the previous reviews realised that a lot of the time we are content, we say nothing and only take time out to moan. I wanted to rebalance the comments with our own experience. Go, enjoy! That's my advice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very average with dodgy service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went along with family and friends, the food was very average and served badly. For instance our party was not served at the same time, there could be a good few minutes between all parties receiving their food. This was the case for both starters and mains. Drinks for this part of the world were over priced, £3.30 for the smallest bottle of Cobra I have ever seen! Finishing with Irish coffee seemed to be a challenge for the staff and the resulting drinks were a laugh to be kind. I won't be rushing back its just too amatuerish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertxrzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Maxin also viewed

 

Been to New Maxin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing