We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fife in the Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fife in the Winter”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very pleasant hotel with very friendly staff. The added bonus for us was that they are pet friendly, albeit with a daily charge, however, this did not detract from the overall experience. We did not use the Spa facilities but we did have a look around, perhaps next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    178
    57
    24
    10
See reviews for
116
208
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I cam here in November for my Brother's Wedding. We arrived early and checked in around 1.30pm which was great. The room we had was awesome, Huuuuuuuuuuge isn't the word, even though we had a child staying with us (which was free).

The bed was massive and could have had 4 people in there it was so spacious. Bathroom and shower were great. We were in the new part of the hotel and couldn't fault anything with the room except it did get a bit cold during the night but nothing too bad.

The Wedding was great, food was homely and tasty, drinks were very reasonable.

Breakfast was also great for the 2 nights. Up early, lots of choice and left full and ready for the day.

All in all, had a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towny036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We obviously came in to the hotel by an odd route as it didn't seem well signed, however on returning from a day out and coming in another way there were lots of road signs.

An easy check-in on arrival, and very pleasant and helpful staff throughout. We asked for a change of duvet as ours was feather - to which I have an allergy - and a replacement was easily found and brought to the room for us.

The full breakfast was very, very, nicely done. The pool was a decent size, unlike some places we've been and the steam room and sauna were also larger then normal.

The hotel was clean and well maintained throughout and I'd have no hesitation in staying again (especially if I had another good deal as this one was!)

Room Tip: Go for room 214, at the end of a corridor and so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights due to a nearby wedding.
Check-in was basic with no explanation of facilities or additional services.
Had dinner on the first night and the food was excellent, service was good and the staff were very friendly. The lounge area could be made more appealing as the lighting and furniture made it seem quite cold however the restaurant area was very nice.
The room itself was the older style, big and spacious. The downside was the single glazed sash windows which did let out a lot of the heat. Housekeeping could do a better job of dusting as it was noticeable in certain areas. The room above had creaking floorboards which did disturb sleeping time, but it is an old building!
No time to use the pool/leisure facilities or eat breakfast so I cannot comment.

Room Tip: Maybe try the newer part of the hotel-less chance of creaking floorboards?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKeenEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is brilliant! It has a swimming pool, steam room and sauna, fitness suite and fitness classes.
We stayed for one night only but wished we could have stayed longer, well worth the money!
The food was excellent and the staff were very genuine, helpful and sooooo nice.
Will definitely stay there again, I even managed to have a swim in the morning before a lovely breakfast.
There was a lift up to the rooms and wow, what a shock....the rooms were absolutely outstanding, we were upgraded on arrival.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel was very nice, the room was lovely large TV comfy bed good nites sleep good value!
Dint try the restaurant which was probably a blessing if the breakfast was anything to go by .
Was directed to the breakfast room at 07.10 {breakfast from 07.00 } seemed to startle the The hotel is very nice lovely room, good TV great, comfy bed, and a great nights sleep..2 staff still setting out the main breakfast table .{ Good morning sit at any table } NO totally IGNORED.! So sat down and hoped for further instruction, after short wait I ordered white toast full Scottish and a pot of tea to my surprise, quickly the toast arrived minus butter and there was none on the table, followed by the full Scottish which was ok, unfortunately by the time I finished, the pot of tea never made it so I was not impressed at all with the breakfast service also there was only 3 other people at breakfast at the time

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 752davef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
2.0 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel

Property: Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Address: Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
#3 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgeddie Hotel Glenrothes
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel Glenrothes, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing