We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodation, lovely setting and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
“Good accommodation, lovely setting and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our initial experience was of a lovely smile and warm welcome from Beth, seated at the reception desk. This is always a good start to any hotel stay.

We were delighted with our first floor deluxe room which was bright, spacious and high ceilinged, and had generous storage space as well as excellent lighting and a top quality LED television. Kettle, teapot and ample sachets of tea and coffee were provided.

The bathroom had a very efficient shower over the bath, there was constant hot water and particularly appreciated were the thick white hand towels and bath sheets. Not appreciated were the wall mounted containers of nondescript liquid soap and hair and body wash, and the unhygienic shower curtain instead of a glazed screen.

There is nothing pretentious about the restaurant with its uncovered tables and paper napkins. Traditional dishes such as fish and chips and steak and ale pie predominate, and are served in generous portions at very reasonable prices by friendly and helpful waitresses. There is a fairly good list of reasonably priced wines and the bar has an impressive range of malt whiskies. The tables and chairs in the well maintained and pleasant grounds provide a nice setting for outdoor drinks.

Not many 3 star hotels can boast such a fine swimming pool and fitness centre as Balgeddie House and, all told, it is a very good hotel indeed. A "Faulty Towers" it most certainly is not.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    169
    56
    23
    10
See reviews for
113
199
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our 5th visit to this lovely hotel, we stayed dinner, bed and breakfast and would highly recommend this. The food was fantastic and staff great. Every member of staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is pet friendly which is great as our spaniel Holly feels quite at home in the hotel. The leisure facilities are great and spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. We will return again for another visit to this fab hotel.

Room Tip: The oldest part of hotel is best, the rooms are large and have a lot of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
774 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staying here really reminded me of staying in Scottish hotels in the 60's with my parents. The traditional hotel, with long corridors and lots of wooden doors, and "bathroom" on a brass plaque on the bathroom door. On a more modern level, the pool was clean and pleasant, and the continental breakfast was really good value. Recommended, if you need to be in Glenrothes for some reason. We were visiting family. A word of warning though - don't expect everything to work. We struggled with Internet access,, and the TV didn't work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel feeling very positive - the grounds were lovely and the pool looked great. We took out five year old daughter who loved swimming to this was the perfect hotel, or so we thought.

We were give a room over looking the car park, which was not the best view but was a good size. The problems started when we left the next morning and came back to our room door wide open, the cleaner had cleaned the room and hadn't thought to close it. Luckily my camera and ipad were hidden so were not taken.

As their was a wedding on the bar got very busy and dinner was hectic the waitresses were running round like headless chickens and getting tomatoe sauce was like trying to get blood from a stone. Having realised getting any service was impossible myself, daughter and husband went to bed to be kept awake at night from the sound of flushing toilets and hand dryers from the toliets below our room. Luckily we were extremely tired so quickly feel asleep.

The next morning we were greeted with our continental breakfast, yogurts!!!!! It seemed everything had been eaten so we were treated to a greasy cooked breakfast which could feed an army.

After spending the day site seeing in Scotland we returned to our room only to find our key didn't work, after three different cards we got the receptionist to get us in our room, every time we left the room we had to ask to get back in.

I don't think I will be returning any time soon, dinner service was dreadful and no none seemed to have any experience of customer service!!! It's a shame under new experienced management this hotel could be fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatP0rter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst working nearby. Staff were friendly and rooms were very clean. Breakfast was lovely with great views out over the garden. The only downside was the early morning exercise classes which woke me up with the shouting of the instructor.

Never tried the gym so can't comment. We had lunch on 2 afternoons and it was very good and not expensive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Who_KnowsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here on 18th July following a wedding in a near by hotel. We were unable to check in when we arrived but the reception staff were very helpful and kept our luggage and moved it into our room for us arriving back. We returned just after midnight and were delighted to be given one of the garden rooms, although this was a little tricky to find in the dark! The room was lovely and fresh with patio doors out into the lovely garden, the only downside was the dirty shower curtain in the bathroom but other than that we were very impressed. We had pre paid for breakfast which I don't think was quite worth the price, it was nice but the cooked Breakfast was really greasy. Overall it was a lovely stay with very helpful and friendly staff, would definitely recommend as a more affordable choice to balbirnie.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I went to this hotel for a break without our daughter and we had a fantastic break. The hotel is set fairly out of the way and therefore is quiet. While we were there we visited st Andrews and Edinburgh which were both within n hour away.
The spa facilities were great and the hotel was clean. All staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful.
Our only complaint (if we were being fussy) would be that the temperature in the room at night was so high that we struggled to sleep - which I would add was rectified when we spoke to staff about this.
The food was great and the portions were massive so we did not leave the restaurant hungry the only thing I would say was the breakfast wasn't the best, it was ok but the tattie scone was quite greasy and I would have preferred it to have been buffet style.
Overall we had a great stay and would not only go back ourselves but would recommend to friends, family and other holiday makers.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front at the hotel are really spacious will nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylmcpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
2.0 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
1.5 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel

Property: Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Address: Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
#3 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgeddie Hotel Glenrothes
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel Glenrothes, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing