We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay but breakfast over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel for the weekend and was not disappointed big rooms and very clean with plenty of storage space and a big bathroom with a huge bath and roasting hot water and plenty of towels .very nice grounds.we only had breakfast one of the mornings and I went for the full cooked which was £10.50 nice breakfast and didn't mind paying the £10.50 as hotel prices are always a little more expensive.However my boyfriend was not the hungry and just orderd scrambled eggs on toast not knowing at the time we got charged £10.50 for some toast and egg so if you are getting breakfast I would just get the full as you still get charged for it.so £21.00 for a full breakfast and some scrambled egg on toast was a bit pricey.lunch was very nice and reasonably priced.it was a very nice stay over all and I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleigh96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 532 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in the new section of the hotel above the fitness centre and the room was excellent. It was large, modern, well decorated and appointed, and would put rooms in hotels 4 times the price to shame. The leisure facility was good but, unfortunately, let down by the lack of anywhere to lounge (or even sit) around the pool.

The "old" part of the hotel was a bit of a let down. The "lounge" adjacent to the bar was a bit insipid, with fairly standard furnishing and (on a freezing weekend) an unlit real fire. So much more could have been achieved with more traditional and striking decor (and a lit fire).

The restaurant was OK - the menus was a bit confused in terms of traditional v bistro and, consequently, fell between both. The quality of the cooking was fine, although no more than that, but the short wine-list was interesting and well priced.

Breakfast was better - a cold buffet or freshly cooked full Scottish.

The service was very good, though, and it was a real pleasure to hear local accents for once.

Room Tip: Go for the new annex above the leisure club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just been overnight at the bagged die House Hotel while attending a wedding in Glenrothes. The location of the hotel is set in quiet grounds and had a peaceful atmosphere. Rooms were very well appointed and spacious. Food was very good and overall, along with the adjoining leisure pool makes this a good location for both business and pleasure. Free wi-fi an added bonus.

Room Tip: Higher quality rooms are just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcdowaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Its not peak season (early April), but even so the price of this hotel per night was amazing for the quality and room size. The outside looks grand, though is styled somewhat from previous but recent decades. Huge back garden, spacious rooms.

It seems like they're quite focussed on their gym/fitness business but it won't mean you lose out on the hotel side. Free wifi didn't need any extra sign-ins it just worked (convenient, just don't treat it as secure). Large back garden area surrounded by tall fir trees but was too wet and we only stayed one night so didn't visit (was in our view).

We had a few issues but they were resolved/staff did their best and in a very friendly and timely way: the phone in our room didn't work when we got there, was quickly swapped out for a working one; the radiator didn't come on (they say it goes off at 11pm but never seemed to be on), and after an attempt to bleed it the reception staff provided and set up a portable heater which did the job ok. Heating in room opposite apparently was working fine so just our room, but annoying that we seemed to be stuck with it. As a result the bathroom was never quite warm enough for my wife. An attempt to get a late dinner snack didn't satisfy much - restaurant closes at 9pm (on Sunday anyway), arrived ~8.35 and took them about half hour to bring the cold salmon starter I'd ordered and the bread wasn't that fresh (but edible). The drink was quickly served but waiting so much longer for the food was frustrating.

They do have margarine on request though (so many places don't have that option).

Stayed on a Sunday night so probably fewer customers there, just to note.

It is off the beaten track a bit, you really need to use a car to get there but there's plenty of parking (looked only 1/5 used on arrival, Sunday afternoon)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgBreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A fabulous stay, a pity for only 1 night. After a long, 350 mile drive (made a little longer by satnav - the postcode took me to someones house) a warm welcome to a stunning location.

Plenty of free car parking, rooms that were modern in design, comfortable and with a high standard of amenities. Fantastic pool and gym area that made for a great way to wind down.

The bar and restaurant verged on the borderline between charming / disorganised but the staff are all so genuine that you have to forgive a few little idiosyncrasies they might have.

Good quality food, well cooked and in good portions and to be recommended.

I paid £90 for dinner, bed and breakfast and thought this represented good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Excellent restaurant. Well-stocked bar staffed by knowledgeable barman. Great swimming pool.
This visit was a business trip but we fully intend to return for pleasure in the late summer.

Room Tip: We were upgraded top a superior room and had a lovely double aspect view onto a forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Easter weekend. Lovely hotel.Very friendly staff. Rooms very spacious and clean. We where in room 220 facing car park the first night,but never got a wink of sleep. Nothing to do with hotel but guests in next room. They were in and out there room all during night and at no point lowered their voices or tv, this went on till 4am at this point we called reception and the night porter came up. But to be honest it never made any difference.It went on like this to 7am at which point my husband was ready to lose the head. We went to reception and explained what happened and got moved after breakfast to another room. Which was facing front gardens and lovely. It would have been nice to have two nights sleep when we where away, but thankfully we did get one. We would use this hotel again but wouldn't hold my tongue if I had another noisy neighbour. We used the restaurant on both nights and food was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor facing gardens room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr0ct0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
1.9 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Gilvenbank Hotel
The Gilvenbank Hotel
#8 of 9 in Glenrothes
131 reviews
9.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel

Address: Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
#3 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgeddie Hotel Glenrothes
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel Glenrothes, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing