We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the money- this was our 3rd stay and will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Balgeddie and we will be back. It is great value for money and a very comfortable hotel. We used the leisure facilities for the first time and they were very nice and extremely clean. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and nicely decorated.

We ate in the hotel restaurant which was lovely and good value. Bar staff were friendly, helpful and made you feel very welcome. Breakfast on both mornings was also good quality for the money. It is also now served until 10am which was much better (used to be 9am) would actually suit us better if it was served until 11am!

Anyway, we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam220912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 538 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in Balgeddie for one night at there Hogmanay Dinner Dance. I Travelled with my wife and other family members.We arrived early and immediately were made to feel welcome by the reception staff.
I was shown to our large well decorated,modern comfortable double room which had flat screen TV., free Wi Fi ,Iron & Ironing Board,Tea/coffee making facilities
Had lunch in the Brasserie where we had a lovely lunch served by a very courteous,friendly and informative waiter (Wayne)
In the afternoon we enjoyed the Steam Room,Sauna and swimming pool which was all impeccably clean.
Then to the Main Event - Hogmanay .There was plenty of waiting staff on hand to serve everyone and the food was well presented and very good praise only from my table.
The band were excellent and played a variety of popular and traditional music.The organisers and all of the staff worked very hard to ensure a great time was had by all.
At the bells people had a choice of a glass of Champagne or Malt Whisky
Next morning had late breakfast and said our goodbyes to newly made friends.
During our stay we met people who had there dogs with them and they only had praise for the hotel and its staff.
My Family and Myself are planning to visit this hotel again at a different time of year and take our dog with us and use the Hotel as a base to explore the Fife Region as we know we will be returning to a modern ,well run friendly hotel with great facilities and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A lovely hotel, though surrounded by housing estates these are very discrete and the building seems remote in its setting. We stayed for the Christmas break (three days) superb value for money, although the food could be improved on without huge expenditure, it wasn't too bad. The staff were superb, couldn't be faulted in any category. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Small details could be changed or added. Christmas tree outside the house, housekeeping tiding up the front, a little more seasonal music, (subtle)! How nice it would be to have a reception desk where you expect a reception, a lovely smiling Michelle to greet you would give the place an extra warmth within the hotel. The reception in the fitness suite seems very cold and unwelcoming. The room was large, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Not on the normal beat and track , but worth a visit if you want a quiet retreat. The pool and Spa are small but more than adequate. Very clean.
The food is very good , but service is up and down depending on which waitress serves you.
This is the second time i have stayed here and service was the same .

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on first floor. Rooms at the top of the hotel, have a bit of a climb and stairs are en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gmoncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel was easy to find with plenty of signposts from central Glenrothes. There is a large free car park but it can get quite full of people using the spa/health centre.

My room was very large with a Queen size bed but I found the bed too hard for my liking. There were free tea/coffee making facilities with complimentary shortbread.

The bathroom was a good size, with plenty of space and complimentary soap/shower gel. The shower had a reasonable strength and the towels were a good size & softness.

The TV was a good size and the free Wifi was a good speed.

I found the restaurant poor and I had to send my steak back because it was overcooked and the second time it was overcooked. The steak was far too thin to be able to be cooked properly and the bought in fries were too small, the tomatoes weren't cooked enough and the so called English mustard served in a plastic bottle was disgusting.

Breakfast was below average with not much choice. The ingredients for the cooked breakfast seemed of poor quality and I had to ask for another tea bag due to the tea being so weak. Service was also poor with it being nearly 5 minutes before any staff appeared after I had to find my own table.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'm late getting around to this review but feel i must give credit where credit is due! On a recent trip to Ireland and Scotland we stayed one night at this hotel and ...what a treat! It turned out to be our favorite hotel of the entire trip. The rooms were beautifully furnished, the staff was helpful and pleasant, the bed was superbly comfortable and the setting/views were fabulous. The breakfast included with the room was delicious and offered excellent selections. Could I say more?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arveear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This family run hotel is very friendly, clean and has a fitness centre with proper swimming pool, hot tub, Sauna and steam room. The very friendly staff look after your every need breakfast is very good with a buffet style selection plus a cooked to order breakfast with a fantastic choice. The dinner menu is well balanced and once again cooked to order. The extensive grounds are well worth exploring and it is only a short walk into Glenrothes. There is plenty of things to explore in the area close to lovely beaches and castles and only a short drive or bus or train ride into Scotlands capital Edinburgh. We love coming to this hotel who have several rooms which allow you to bring your pet dog with you at a small cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
2.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
1.9 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#3 of 9 in Glenrothes
208 reviews
9 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
553 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel

Address: Balgeddie House Hotel Balgeddie Way, Glenrothes KY6 3QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Price Range: $54 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is located on the outskirts of Glenrothes in central Fife. Whether your stay in Fife is for business or pleasure the Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel is the ideal home from home for your stay.Our tranquil setting in immaculate landscaped gardens combines modern facilities with "olde world" charm and we pride ourselves on value for money and a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay. Our Leisure Club - The Fountain Spa - is now Open. Our aim is to provide a complete Health & Leisure experience for our guests. Whether your aim is social, fitness, health related or simply relaxation we provide a service that will accommodate your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgeddie Hotel Glenrothes
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel Glenrothes, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing