We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenhead of Arnot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenrothes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenhead of Arnot
Ranked #3 of 9 Glenrothes B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best of hosts”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from a great break in Fife where the highlight was a stay at Greenhead. The hosts Maggie and Malcolm were very welcoming and provided us with an extremely comfortable large double bedroom and a great breakfast. I wish I had booked all my nights here.

Room Tip: Get the large double, its fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiestrangsteel, Owner at Greenhead of Arnot, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. The large double is quite special!

I hope we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

On a recent visit as the snow increased and after our long drive, we found our way to Maggie and Malcom's warm hospitality, a roaring fire and hot tea...we felt like we were welcomed home! Our hosts made sure we got to our evening destinations and back again safely. Our bed was warm (the electric blanket had been put on!), the breakfast sooo tasty and the view across countryside was beautiful. We have highly recommended Greenhead of Arnot to friends and are planning a return visit in early summer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank P-mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiestrangsteel, Owner at Greenhead of Arnot, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Great news that you are planning a return visit - we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed in this lovely house recently in order to attend a family wedding nearby. Despite our very early arrival I and other family members received a lovely welcome. We were soon installed in the beautiful drawing room with a roaring fire and afternoon tea. The bedrooms were comfortable and well-equipped, with a plentiful supply of tea, coffee etc and fresh milk. Whilst the rooms were not ensuite, the bathrooms were close by and generously supplied with toiletries, and extra towels. We made the excellent choice of eating in on our first night there. Dinner was an absolute delight as were the breakfasts with very high quality produce. Indeed the breakfasts were probably the best I have had in any B&B or hotel. Maggie and Malcolm are charming and helpful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. My only regret was that the weather didn't lend itself to exploring the lovely location of this property. You can't have everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floatingworld_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have just returned from a long weekend in Fife where I stayed at Greenhead of Arnot B&B. I don't do many reviews but my stay was so good I felt I had to make a review.
From the moment you enter into one of the largest, most beautiful hallway with its large inglenook fire crackling at the side, the grand staircase leads you up to just a few rooms, but all are just beautiful. The bed was sumptuous and the breakfast was delicious. But Maggie and Malcolm are the stars of this property, they are wonderful hosts and do everything they can to make your stay perfect. I loved my short break and look forward to a longer stay next year.

Room Tip: I stayed in the large double, with vies across the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lessax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
788 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhead of Arnot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhead of Arnot

Property: Greenhead of Arnot
Address: Leslie, Glenrothes KY6 3JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhead of Arnot is a Fife farmhouse B&B that dates from about 1840, with additions in 2000, which have made the house spacious and modern; ideal for the country house bed and breakfast business which Malcolm and Maggie Strang Steel have developed there. The farmhouse can be found on the south slopes of the Lomond Hills on the border of Fife and Kinross-shire and is situated within 590 acres of farmland and woodland, surrounding a twenty five acre reservoir. These provide a variety of bird life in the woods and on the reservoir, enjoyable walks and magnificent views across the Firth of Forth. There is trout fishing available on the farm by arrangement.Greenhead is not just a place to stay for what it can offer itself. There is something for everyone within an hours drive: the Edinburgh Festival, the beaches of the Fife coast, golf at St. Andrews, Gleneagles and numerous other courses, castles in Edinburgh, Stirling, Blair Atholl and Glamis, and fine scenery wherever you go.The bedrooms have very comfortable beds, and an excellent selection of books and TV. Breakfast is served in the dining room – porridge, cereals, fruit and superb locally-sourced eggs, bacon and sausages. A three or four course dinner, including produce from the garden, farm and other local shops can be requested in advance. Maggie loves to cook and uses fresh and seasonal foods throughout the year whenever possible. Guests can relax with their afternoon tea by the log fire in the drawing room or sit in the summer sunshine in the garden enjoying the roses.Maggie and Malcolm enjoy having guests to stay and helping them to find all that is on offer locally and throughout Scotland. Malcolm is interested in history while Maggie enjoys gardening and outdoor activities. Just 10 minutes from the M90, Greenhead Farm is a peaceful place from which to visit the many attractions in the central area of Scotland or to simply break your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenhead Of Arnot Glenrothes, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing