We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff made this an excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
Boldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Staff made this an excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed for one night with our 5 month old baby. When we arrived the room was set up with a sofa bed not a cot (we'd booked through a 3rd party and the request had not been passed through). Before we had even gotten to the room the reception staff had arranged for the room to be re-configured, and it was done in a couple of mins.

They were also very helpful with directions, and generally very friendly and polite.

We weren't expecting breakfast, but we were pleasantly suprised when it was included (not to mention the free wifi)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear m_mckenna76

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am pleased you enjoyed our free Express Start breakfast. All Holiday Inn Express hotels offer free breakfast and free Wi-Fi as standard now.

Please do not hesitate to contact hotels direct to make bookings and we can ensure requests are met where possible, it is good to see the receptionist got the cot set up in the room quickly for you though.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    100
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
65
91
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Everything was great the room was just what we required great value for money would come back…Staff excellent..Friendly, warm and welcoming staff, clean and very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast.. Amazing views, fantastic food, friendly staff. What more do you need

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirleyehjhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Shirleyehjhannah

Thank you very much for the fantastic review regarding your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am thrilled to read your comments regarding the team here at Glenrothes. We take great pride in looking after all of our guests during their time in our hotel; it is always great to read comments about the service the team provide.

I am pleased you enjoyed the free Express Start Breakfast and you experienced our usual high standards regarding cleanliness.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,219 reviews
285 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The long awaited refurb has started with part of the hotel now sporting the refurbed rooms. New carpets, curtains, decor, furnishings and lighting. However have kept the old doors, sanitary ware, towels, TV, hairdryer and possibly bed - and it shows. That's a real shame and seems a little short sighted in the context of this being a major refurb programme.

Of course it is much better than it was but probably less than an extra £1000 per room on the programme could have produced a room comparable with those seen in some of the new build HIE out there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear sleep007

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes and also for rating us 4 stars.

As you have mentioned our refurbishment is well under way now and it is very exciting! We have replaced all hairdryers and beds in the rooms; they are the same style but newer models.

We have kept sanitary fittings such as tissue boxes as these are replaced sporadically when damaged or broken. We have also kept all existing doors and TV's as they are in good working order.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

I will certainly pass your comments onto the appropriate person within the company.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Cheap and cheerful really sums it up! We were there for a wedding and it was nice enough to stay in, considering we were at another hotel for the actual wedding. So for a couple of nights sleep, can't really complain!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimmo2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mimmo2210

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very reasonably priced room for the night with a very good free breakfast. My family of 5 and i had an overnight and decided to stay here for its location and price. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was really nice. Cereals(kellogs), fresh fruit, yoghurts, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Croissants, nutella, jams and toast, I was full up. Would definetly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABYBLAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear BABYBLAIR

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my family whilst visiting Fife.

We had a double and a sofa bed in our small room which left very little space for anything else - I had to sit diagonally at the desk in the evening! The bed was soft with very little support making for an uncomfortable night's sleep, and the kids fell through the sofa bed and had a poor sleep too!

Although breakfast was included in the price the choice was limited and the food had dried under the heat lamps.

On the plus side the staff were nice and there was a great power shower in the room. There is also a superb pub for food next door, The Fettykill Fox, which I can highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetallguy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear thetallguy67,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I wish to thank you for the kind comments for the staff. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over some of the amenities in the room. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed a week in early October, arriving early after flying from Boston. We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist, Lee, and immediately provided an available room despite the very early check-in. After a nap we were relocated to our preferred room free and without question. The housekeeper, Dayu, even asked what we would like for breakfast the next morning-- ultimately providing a hearty Scottish porridge just for us!

The room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel quiet. It was a perfect central location for us, golfers. Equally as handy, the best restaurant in the town was right next door. With the UK drinking and driving laws, it was great to enjoy a beverage or two and be able to walk back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Don A

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the service you received when you stayed with us. Our team does their best to make our guest's feel welcome during their stay; it is always great to read comments about the service the team provide.

I am very pleased you experienced our usual high standards throughout your stay. I hope you enjoyed your golfing trip to Scotland and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Dean Park Hotel
The Dean Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kirkcaldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Address: Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY7 5PS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the town of Glenrothes, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Perth and historic St Andrews the Express by Holiday Inn Glenrothes is the ideal choice for guests looking for a hotel in the heart of Fife. The hotel is 20 miles from the Forth Bridge via the A911 and the M90, giving easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the South.The hotel has just undergone renovations and provides a modern and fresh communal area for guests. This includes a lounge area where we welcome guests to our hotel bar and to watch our widescreen tv featuring Sky Sports.We are a small hotel with a friendly, family feel perfect for business, sole and family travellers. For any more information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenrothes
Holiday Inn Glenrothes
Glenrothes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing