We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS-GLENROTHES”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Glenrothes
Certificate of Excellence
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS-GLENROTHES”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very reasonably priced room for the night with a very good free breakfast. My family of 5 and i had an overnight and decided to stay here for its location and price. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was really nice. Cereals(kellogs), fresh fruit, yoghurts, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Croissants, nutella, jams and toast, I was full up. Would definetly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABYBLAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear BABYBLAIR

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    109
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
69
95
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my family whilst visiting Fife.

We had a double and a sofa bed in our small room which left very little space for anything else - I had to sit diagonally at the desk in the evening! The bed was soft with very little support making for an uncomfortable night's sleep, and the kids fell through the sofa bed and had a poor sleep too!

Although breakfast was included in the price the choice was limited and the food had dried under the heat lamps.

On the plus side the staff were nice and there was a great power shower in the room. There is also a superb pub for food next door, The Fettykill Fox, which I can highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetallguy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear thetallguy67,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I wish to thank you for the kind comments for the staff. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over some of the amenities in the room. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed a week in early October, arriving early after flying from Boston. We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist, Lee, and immediately provided an available room despite the very early check-in. After a nap we were relocated to our preferred room free and without question. The housekeeper, Dayu, even asked what we would like for breakfast the next morning-- ultimately providing a hearty Scottish porridge just for us!

The room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel quiet. It was a perfect central location for us, golfers. Equally as handy, the best restaurant in the town was right next door. With the UK drinking and driving laws, it was great to enjoy a beverage or two and be able to walk back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Don A

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the service you received when you stayed with us. Our team does their best to make our guest's feel welcome during their stay; it is always great to read comments about the service the team provide.

I am very pleased you experienced our usual high standards throughout your stay. I hope you enjoyed your golfing trip to Scotland and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before and arrived quite late on a Friday evening. We were given a warm and helpful welcome from the receptionist. My room was on the 1st floor and while I requested a room away from doors and stairs (which I know can't be guaranteed) guess what, my room was near a noisy door. The room was clean and comfortable but the mattress was a bit too soft for me. We ate in the Fettykill Fox next door which was convenient with a varied menu.

Breakfast was fine with a good selection.

It is a convenient spot for heading north or south

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaT938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear FionaT938

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am pleased to read that you received a warm welcome from the receptionist and that your room was to our normal high standards.

I am sorry that the room allocated was not as quiet as it could have been; we do try to honor as many requests as we can. Sometimes when the hotel is busy we cannot accommodate everyone. Please contact the hotel directly and we will do all we can to meet your request.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We were moved to the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, during an emergency within our family.
We stayed for 10 nights and could not recommend the staff more if we tried, Lee & Lesley-Ann went beyond anything we had experienced previously to help us through what was a very life and death situation for that we will always be truly grateful.
The breakfast was more than adequate with cereals, toasts, scrambled eggs, sausages etc.
The room 107 was very comfortable for our needs with housekeeping doing a fantastic job, clean towels everyday.
No negatives what so ever. Thank you x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natstanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear natstanden

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our team, we do try our best to look after each of our guests’ and help them as much as possible. Lee & Lesley-Ann would like to thank you for the chocolates you left for them.

I will make sure they are recognized at the hotel!

I will pass your comments onto all team members; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

stayed for three days as part if a large group booking. Unfortunately we were not told that the twin rooms booked were actually a room with a double bed and a sofa bed. Great if you had the double BUT being middle aged my body did not take to a 3 inch mattress to well. Hotel then explained they only have 6 twin rooms but forgot to mention this when we booked. Do check this room fact when you make your booking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear geob01

Thank you for your recent review of us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

I am sorry to read that you did not expect to have sofa beds in the rooms. As you have mentioned we only have 6 twin rooms in the hotel. This is normally stressed to anyone making a group booking and that the majority of rooms will be sofa beds.

I apologise that this was not explained clearly to you at the time of booking.

The bedrooms are due to be refurbished soon and this is one of the areas we are looking into. We will be changing some of our double/sofa bed rooms into twin rooms so that we can accommodate groups better.

I hope That we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Two nights 8 & 9 September 2013 in room 246, upstairs and nearly furthest from the road looking out over the car park at the front. It was quiet and pleasant decor, with locked door to adjacent room, so could be combined with another room if required.

With twin beds one is against the bathroom wall with a small bedside cabinet between the beds, so limited space between beds. However the other bed has good amount of room between it and desk / window area, so there could be a better layout, but they are fixed in relation to combined bed head. (see photographs)

There's plenty of space for cases etc with a stand and shelf, also tea / coffee facilities.
Wi-fi is available free, but you have to get user name and password printout from reception and it will only work with one device, we did manage to get a second one as we both needed to work on separate laptops.

Neither the wash basin nor the shower could provide reliable hot water no matter how long you waited, it was cold or tepid at the best regardless of time of day. You could wait until it was tepid, get in shower and next moment it would be cold. This was reported to reception on departure, it may or may not affect other rooms.

Breakfast is included with a reasonable range on offer, although cooked items on both days were limited to just sausage, beans and scrambled egg, certainly less than any other HIE I have stayed in in UK or abroad.

Be wary of the supplied address and postcode by satnav / GPS, it took me and apparently may others to a school a couple of miles away ! In fact the hotel location is more Leslie than Glenrothes, and not quite as obvious as most hotels as it's by the roundabout but at a lower level and set back. Keep your eyes peeled for The Fettykil Fox too, the restaurant / pub next door, you may spot that first. It's convenient and we had good meals there both nights, with good friendly service.

Room Tip: Upstairs and away from the stairs, towards back of car park, but facing out to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuartholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsay F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Fuartholl

Thank you for your review of us at the Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes.

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding the water temperature.
The maintenance manager looked into this issue straight away and it is now resolved. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I am disappointed to read that your expectations were not met regarding the free Express Start Breakfast. There are standards in place for this; some items are required while others are optional.
Please feel free to send me an e-mail with suggestions on how we can improve our breakfast from experiences you have encountered at other HI Express hotels and in turn we will be able to improve ours. lynsay@hiexpressglenrothes.co.uk

Some guests have experienced problems with the Sat Nav or TomToms they are using. Our postcode does seem to cause problems with newer models for some reason. One of the reception team is always on hand to give directions via the telephone or we can e-mail directions prior to arrival.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Lynsay Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenrothes
0.5 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
562 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gilvenbank Hotel
The Gilvenbank Hotel
#8 of 9 in Glenrothes
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Greenside Hotel
The Greenside Hotel
#7 of 9 in Glenrothes
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Address: Leslie Road | Leslie Roundabout, Glenrothes KY7 5PS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glenrothes
#5 Family Hotel in Glenrothes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glenrothes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the town of Glenrothes, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Perth and historic St Andrews the Express by Holiday Inn Glenrothes is the ideal choice for guests looking for a hotel in the heart of Fife. The hotel is 20 miles from the Forth Bridge via the A911 and the M90, giving easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow and the South.The hotel has just undergone renovations and provides a modern and fresh communal area for guests. This includes a lounge area where we welcome guests to our hotel bar and to watch our widescreen tv featuring Sky Sports.We are a small hotel with a friendly, family feel perfect for business, sole and family travellers. For any more information please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenrothes
Holiday Inn Glenrothes
Glenrothes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing