We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B for a short stay near Edinburgh.”
Review of Backmarch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfermline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backmarch House
Ranked #6 of 25 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
1 review
“Excellent B&B for a short stay near Edinburgh.”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed four nights at Backmarch House and enjoyed the very friendly atmosphere. Margret made us feel at home. Good connections to Edinburgh and also to other tourist spots like Culross or along the coast. Ideal also for a short stay or a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuenterOAusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
23
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you are ever in the Rosyth area and need a b&b you would be foolish to miss out on this one. Both the accomodation and food is of a very high standard. Margaret is an exceptional host, nothing is too much trouble. We (two elders) stayed for only two nights, but came away wishing we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed in Backmarch B&B for a dancing week-end in Rosyth. Very pleasant and helpful host, large house (ex-farm but modernised to a high standard). Huge room. Excellent facilities. Don't be put off by location! It's also minutes (if that!) from the main motorway network.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guest284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Backkmarck house during the edinburgh fringe festival having found that accomodation in Edinburgh itself was fairly pricey and for the most part fully booked. The B&B is located in a quiet area about a 5 min walk away from rosyth train station, or about £5 in a taxi to inverkeithing station. Getting into Edinburgh is very easy and not expensive. The B&B is immaculate and rooms are very spacious and quiet. We stayed in the double room which offers a kingsize bed, flatscreen TV, and large en suite. It was just perfect for us and we slept very well both nights.
Margaret runs the B&B and is so friendly and helpful, it really made our stay. She was on hand to offer help and advice and is so organised and flexible with everything.
Breakfast was lovely and there is plenty of choice and Margaret went out of her way to remember our personal prefrences.
The grounds of the B&B offer safe offstreet parking and the is huge garden at the rear.
We are pleased we chose to stay here and would recommend this B&B to everyone. 10/10 a beautiful property with exceptional service!!

Room Tip: only four rooms within the property, keeping it very small and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heddon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at Backmarch House for one night whilst visiting one of our company's offices in Dunfermline. I chose to stay with Margaret as I've enjoyed her hospitality before and know how comfortable the accommodation is.
Backmarch House is spotless, warm and welcoming. The beds are very comfortable, I had a superb night's sleep as the area was so quiet. The rooms are a very generous size with lovely en-suite shower rooms. Breakfast is lovely and offers all the usual cereals, fruit, yoghurts, full cooked breakfast, toast, etc etc all cooked to order.
Staying at Backmarch feels like you are staying with a friend as Margaret is so welcoming and makes sure you hve everythign you need to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

No more can be said than previous review. Once again excellent friendly service, good clean rooms good service from owner Margaret. Hopefully returning in May

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We, 9 men of mature age and sound judgement, have just returned from another excellent weekend in Rosyth. For our purposes Backmarch House could not be better placed, but as a base for other reasons to visit the area it is also ideal. Near enough to both Glasgow and Edinburgh and attractions to the north although the local history is not to be ignored. A better, more helpful and friendly landlady than Margaret would be hard to find. This was a first visit for some of our party and 6th. or 7th. for others. Some will be returning again in May but there is no doubt that regular visits will continue in the future, Backmarch House being our first choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfermline
3.3 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
754 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
173 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Bridges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backmarch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backmarch House

Property: Backmarch House
Address: 54A Norval Place | Rosyth, Dunfermline KY11 2RJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backmarch House B&B is a splendid Georgian period farmhouse renovated to a very high standard so we can offer quality Bed & Breakfast Accommodation.We are in Rosyth near Dunfermline, and just 15-20 over the bridge to Edinburgh, we are so central to travel to and from, yet Backmarch House is set within its own grounds and offers quality accommodation in a quiet setting.Our rooms are beautifully appointed and delightfully furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backmarch House Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing