We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garvock House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Customer Service!”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I could not be more pleased with my experience with this Hotel. The place was immaculately kept and the service was superb.
I stayed at this lovely hotel with a friend for a recently wedding, which was held at the Hotel as well.
The Wedding reception was wonderful. I was very impressed by the level of service throughout the day.
But what impressed me was, that in a day where customer service is sorely lacking in so many places, this place is over-the-top in customer service. The wait staff in the dining room as well as the lounge were superb! Over and over we were treated to friendly smiles and a warm hello.
The rooms are nicely decorated and the en-suite baths were very clean. Ours was a comfortable room with a view of the rear gardens.
The setting of the Hotel was beautiful as well. Gardens filled with beautiful flowers, manicured lawns. The site was just lovely.
And did I mention the customer service??? I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imaprettywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    38
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
106
51
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Loved it...

Nice people, food is AMAZING!

Thats about it rally, oh and lovely view!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbnforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Garvock Hotel. The room was huge and lovely, beautifully decorated with a beautiful, big, clean bathroom - very quiet too. We were staying there for a wedding, and I can certainly recommend it as a reception location too. The service was incredibly friendly, and the meal was excellent. In terms of location, it's only about a half-hour's taxi drive from Edinburgh Airport too, so the location is great, and the staff were great about ringing a taxi for us whenever we needed it. We had a wonderful stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Stayed here on a business trip for 3 nights. Chose it due to it's close proximity to Rosyth although the drive there took about 20 mins. We had dinner in the hotel on two nights both the food and service were excellent. The rooms and general areas were spotless and nicely decorated with the bedrooms having power showers and flat screen telly's. Breakfast was among the best I've had on my travels with everything cooked fresh to order from an exensive menu. I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2009

i was at the hotel with my family for mothers day,the food and service was 1st class and look forward to another visit,certain to tell my friends about garvock house hotel.



thankyou

james dunlop

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunlopjames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

lovely hotel, wonderful room, friendly staff, great food - couldn't ask for more (unless you could pick it up and move it to a rural location)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Returned to the Garvock Hotel to bring in the New Year and throroughly enjoyed our two night stay. We had previously stayed there in July 2008 and our second stay was equally good. Lovely spacious double room with flat screen TV and DVD player, hairdryer, tea/Coffee making facilities. Scrupulously clean room and en suite bathroom. Waiting and bar staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive (nearly all are Portugese as is one of the co-owners) and the Scottish receptionists could not be more helpful. Food is good and the ambience of the hotel is excellent. It is really a country house hotel in the town.

An excellent location from which to explore Fife and over the Forth road bridge to Edinburgh (viewing the iconic Forth railway bridge en route).

Highly recommended family run hotel with all the facilities needed to give a relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.2 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
0.8 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
2.4 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garvock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvock House Hotel

Property: Garvock House Hotel
Address: St. John's Drive | Transy, Dunfermline KY12 7TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garvock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully elevated position in the ancient capital of Dunfermline - Garvock House sits proudly in over 2 acres of gardens, a glorious testimony to its hey day as a stunning family house. Truly 'the country house hotel in town.' Family owned and run, Garvock House has been transformed into a delightful hotel retaining an authentic and rather special country house charm and informality: relaxing and elegant with classic interiors, very comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. And a passion for fresh produce which remains undimmed. Dunfermline hotels just don't come better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Garvock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garvock House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing