We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garvock House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a family of 10 gathering for an anniversary dinner.all our meals were delicious,fresh and tasty.Each course was served by very pleasant,attentive and courteous staff.We also thought the meal was well priced.Lovely relaxed dining room in a beautiful period building.
Looking forward to returning in May for a wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thistlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review, so glad that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again next May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Garvock House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for a weeding held at this Hotel, and what with the good weather it was a great weekend. The Hotel was wonderful and the staff very friendly and most helpful, our room was good and very comfortable.

some people think this Hotel is over priced. However, we booked well in advanced and got a very good deal. The food/breakfast was very good and again the staff very helpful, they went out of their way to help you.
We would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review - we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A couple of months ago I booked two twin rooms for next September and received a printed confirmation of the booking. The following week I received a telephone call from a rather snippy woman saying my booking was no longer accepted. This I found out was because the hotel had been booked out for the Ryder Cup after my booking had been accepted.
I have recommended this hotel for many years especially American guests and have organised dinners at the hotel.
For a fast huge profit in the short term they have lost a long term regular patron. No more recommendations for this hotel I'm sorry to say.
Unknowing to me by law they should have supplied another hotel at the same pricing or they are meant to pay for an upgrade. That's the law as I understand

Room Tip: Be careful of the prices and I agree with some other guests, you may have to wait at the bar especia...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On 24 August our daughter and her new husband held a dinner party for 25 of their friends following their return from their wedding and honeymoon in Hawaii. As they live in Dunfermline and know the Garvock House Hotel quite well it was an obvious choice for their party.
My husband and I stayed overnight - a wise and thankful decision! Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable with ample and pleasing furnishings. We had a twin rooom and both beds were really cosy and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was spotless with ample toiletries should you need/want them.
The dinner party was held in one of the private dining rooms where the three large circular tables were decked in pristine white linen; glassware and cutlery gleaming and overall the room was excellently displayed.
All the guests found it easy to rate their three course dinner regardless of what starter, main or sweet course they'd selected as 'TOP OF THE RANGE'. All the food was beautifully prepared, cooked and well presented - tastes were 'out of this world - vegetables too were fresh and not over-cooked.
Service was first class - with young waiters/waitresses very attentive yet unobtrusive; they were friendly, helpful, polite and smartly kitted out.
All in all this was one of the happiest and most enjoyable occasions we have attended for some time and it was heart-warming to hear the younger guests saying the same thing. After our splendid meal the party, needless to say, continued in one of the lounges when the guests had a chance to catch up on viewing wedding photographs and hearing of the many exploits the newlyweds had enjoyed on their holiday of a lifetime - parasailing, shark cage swimming, a visit to Pearl Harbour, sailing, snorkelling, swimming with dolphins and seeing endangered green turtles swim by - to name a few of the activities they took part in.
Full marks to all the staff at the Garvock House Hotel for helping to make this such a happy and memorable occasion. We'll certainly use this hotel again and highly recommend it to those who enjoy fine dining, comfortable accommodation and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: If you like good food, excellent service, extremely comfortable and clean accommodation amid beautif...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morganva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Morganva,

Thank you for your lovely review - we're so pleased that you and your family and friends enjoyed this visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Garvock House before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and found it very friendly and clean. They clearly take pride in their restaurant. This time I found the staff less welcoming (except the girls at breakfast, which was also excellent), The thing I really found annoying was a smear on the bathroom wall from the previous resident. Which seemed to be ignored when the cleaner came to clean my room. I frequently visit Fife but will probably will not stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visi2r801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry that your last visit didn't meet your expectations. I hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back to Garvock House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just back from a family lunch at this hotel. My son and his fiancé are getting married here next October so thought we'd check it out. Fabulous food, beautiful grounds and friendly helpful staff. Can't wait till next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you Christine. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we're looking forward to welcoming you back your son's wedding next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was my wife and I's second visit to this hotel and we were delighted with what we experienced especially as we took two friends with us. A lovely welcome and comfortable lounge to enjoy a drink before going through to the restaurant which has a wonderful atmosphere and very attentive staff. We had a varied selection of main meals including steak, fish ( expertly boned at the table by David), duck and veal. All extremely palatable followed by superb sweets. This establishment is a must if visiting the Dunfermline area but I recommend you book in advance.

Room Tip: We did not stay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and thanks for bringing your friends along too. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you all back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
2.4 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garvock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garvock House Hotel

Address: St. John's Drive, Dunfermline KY12 7TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: $126 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garvock House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully elevated position in the ancient capital of Dunfermline - Garvock House sits proudly in over 2 acres of gardens, a glorious testimony to its hey day as a stunning family house. Truly 'the country house hotel in town.' Family owned and run, Garvock House has been transformed into a delightful hotel retaining an authentic and rather special country house charm and informality: relaxing and elegant with classic interiors, very comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. And a passion for fresh produce which remains undimmed. Dunfermline hotels just don't come better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Garvock House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garvock House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing