We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$98
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline(Dunfermline)(Great Value!)
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$126
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dunfermline(Dunfermline)(Great Value!)
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Balmule House(Dunfermline)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
239
45
12
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
45
12
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst classvenisondining roomslunch menuwedding receptionlovely hotelfunction suitewedding breakfastfamily weddingwaiting staffvisited this hotelchristmas luncha wonderful stayfrom start to finishdunfermline arearoom was largecouldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 310 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was my wife and I's second visit to this hotel and we were delighted with what we experienced especially as we took two friends with us. A lovely welcome and comfortable lounge to enjoy a drink before going through to the restaurant which has a wonderful atmosphere and very attentive staff. We had a varied selection of main meals including steak, fish ( expertly boned at the table by David), duck and veal. All extremely palatable followed by superb sweets. This establishment is a must if visiting the Dunfermline area but I recommend you book in advance.

Room Tip: We did not stay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and thanks for bringing your friends along too. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you all back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absolutely beautiful country house hotel situated in Dunfermline, with beautiful gardens and lovely rooms.

We stayed for our first anniversary and there was a wedding going on. The hotel was busy and this did make waiting times for the bar quite long. But we ordered cocktails all night and they were so beautiful this made up for it!!

The evening receptionist seemed a little disinterested in us but the morning receptionist was absolutely charming and really put us in a good mood for the day. Breakfast was beautiful, and the breakfast waitress was great, she had an excellent manner and it really made us feel very welcomed.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we had outside reservations, but from what I hear the food is amazing.

The only criticism I have is that the walls in room 12 are very thin and we could hear the couple next door having an argument at 1am. Also, the doors down the hallway are very loud and bang. But this can't really be helped, and the other positives of the hotel outweighed the negatives impressively.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Not room 12!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaithfulTestSubject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your visit went.

Our apologies about the noise from the adjoining room. I'll pass on your comments about the doors and we'll see if there is anything we can do to reduce the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Went for a an amazing Lunch on Saturday the 3rd August, the food was fantastic from starters right through to sweets. Service was impeccable. The gardens are beautiful and surroundings. The only complaint would be getting the pond with the fish cleaned but on a whole it's amazing. I shall be back for a wedding in September I cannot wait.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hi Amanda. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - we're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you back again in September. The gardens should still be lovely then and we'll keep our fingers crossed for the weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Garvock House Hotel for a friend's wedding. No doubt they will expand upon the hotel's rating as a wedding venue - I will stick to its performance as a hotel.

The hotel is clearly a premier venue in the area - it was noted as such by our taxi driver, who said that he and his friends always used it for special occasions.

The welcome/check-in at the hotel was polite and efficient, if not overly warm. No porter was offered to take our bags - some may wish to note this if they have rooms upstairs as we could not find any lift. Our room was comfortable but some way from 5-star - I would describe it as high-end Travel Inn. There was no airconditioning (excusable in Scotland, perhaps) and we were unfortunate, in that respect, to stay during one of the hottest days of the year - the room was quite stuffy because of this.

However, the hotel had a number of very good points. The staff were generally excellent, especially one charming hotel receptionist and the Portuguese bar/breakfast staff. The breakfast itself was terrific (offering Scottish classics as well as more international favourites like pancakes with bacon, and eggs benedict) and served in a beautiful room.

The grounds of the hotel are also very nice, and it was a pleasure to chip and putt on the hotel's front lawn, which had a number of practice golf holes for the purpose.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to friends visiting Dunfermline. It is not, however, without need of some improvements in order to make it into a 5, or even truly a 4, star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to let us have your comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for letting us know about the areas where you think we can improve.

As you rightly point out, lack of air conditioning in Scotland is rarely a problem as we aren't usually lucky enough to have such hot weather.

I hope that we might have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Garvock House at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The best place we stayed in all of Scotland. We adored our stay and they treated our young son very well. The city itself is interesting, but it is a city and very different from near the highlands where we had just come from, so for us It was an oasis in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikStor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and so glad that your enjoyed your stay. Hope that we can welcome you and your son back again if you return to Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews