We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing about Dunfermline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pitreavie Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best thing about Dunfermline”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had a great stay at the Pitreavie Guest House. Liz and Jim are great hosts, very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The room was clean, the bathroom was fine and the vegetarian breakfast was really good.
I stayed here while going to see the Stranglers at the Alhambra. The theatre is 20 minutes walk away, with the railway station 15 in the same direction. The only trouble I had was my failure to open the window to rid the room of the smell of the chips I brought home with me!
Overall it is a lovely place to stay, with great hosts who know how to treat guests. I will definately be back and the next time I am walking on the Fife Coastal Path I will go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbeast_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
75
23
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I concur completely with Beth W and the other recent reviews. Pitreavie Guest House was like home, made so especially by Liz and Jim. We only regret that we could not stay longer. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious - you will not be disappointed. What made our stay special was the care of Liz and Jim - like others said, it was like visiting family or old friends. We would all love to visit again and can recommend Pitreavie enthusiastically!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Like many of the other reviews have said it is Jim and Liz that make this place so amazing. It feels like you are guests and part of the family for the time you are there. The rooms are spacious and really comfortable they are stylish, the bathroom is clean and spacious enough to be comfortable. Fresh cooked breakfast with a great selection of fruits and cereals as well. If you are considering going to Dunfermline or wanting to commute to Edinburgh (just a 40 min easy and beautiful train trip away) then this place is A MUST! Also the bus stop is really close. Was lovely to feel so well looked after just wish I could come back again! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I defy anyone to find a speck of dust in Liz and Jim's beautiful home! The place is absolutely spotless, spacious, very tastefully presented and incredibly welcoming. The only thing wrong was that we could only stay for two nights! You won't walk away hungry from Pitreavie: the breakfasts are wonderful too. Fantastic value for money. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elimay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Spotless, well decorated room, comfortable beds, lots of extra touches. The bijou ensuite is cleverly designed with a strong shower. The double glazing makes the room very quiet. Breakfast was magnificent, in a charming dining room.
But the best thing about Pitreavie is JIm and LIz. It's like staying with your favourite relatives, but with none of the washing up! They were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They have lots of information about Dunfermaline. We highly recommend Pitreavie and JIm and Liz.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Chose to stay here based on previous reviews. It was as everyone has said, spacious airy room, and welcoming hosts. Cannot recommend too highly

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where2next4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I arrived late after along day & Jim & Liz could not have been more welcoming. The room was excellent, very spacious & clean. The breakfast excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending the Pitreavie Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Dunfermline
387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
0.2 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
149 reviews
3.1 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitreavie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitreavie Guest House

Property: Pitreavie Guest House
Address: 3 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitreavie Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pitreavie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitreavie Guest House Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing