We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy break in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Busy break in Scotland”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Room was OK although bed wasn't very comfy so I didn't sleep well & got back ache (something I don't normally suffer from). The window didn't open & we had a view of a brick wall. There was a free-standing air conditioning unit which was effective but very noisy. Too noisy to leave on overnight.

Meals in the restaurant were great although there was some confusion over the 10% discount to residents which wasn't applied to our bill. Breakfasts were very good. The same CD seemed to be played constantly in the restaurant which became annoying after a while.

Things to do nearby include: Stirling Castle with excellent guided tours, Falkirk Wheel, Callendar House (Falkirk), Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum, Dunfermline Abbey, Pittencrieff Park & much, much more.

We stayed for 3 nights on a Groupon deal. Good value for money and so much to do in the area that we need to go again despite this being our 3rd visit to Dunfermline. We're already planning our next visit but will stay longer and not at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
20
80
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for an overnight, thought the hotel was clean and lovely. The rooms were spacious and well equipped with everything you need x Nicely decorated and very helpful staff x Albertos downstairs was excellent value for money and food and drink was lovely x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmilne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked to see a show at the Alhambra and decided to stay here. Greeted by a friendly member of staff and shown to our room. Room was very basic but clean and staff let me park my car outside until after 6pm when I moved it to the local car park which is free after 6pm on Saturdays. Breakfast was nice but they ran out of orange juice on the Monday morning therefore an older couple had to go without which was unforgivable considering there were only six people having breakfast. Hotel is situated 5 mins from the theatre and right in the centre of town. We did not hear any noise from the night club next door.
Could be a very nice hotel with a little more effort but OK for the price we paid

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side from nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madgolfer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardross, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Two years in a row we have booked this hotel for the BTCC weekend and both times they have phoned to say they have double booked and can't offer us a room. This time they blame late rooms. Last time there were regulars who were more important despite us booking months in advance.This place needs to sort itself out.. Very disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms29_Manager, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Having booked 8 weeks in advance, and having received contact from our staff advising you of the booking error within one hour of your reservation. We feel that the method of your complaint is unwarranted and excessive. We appreciate your frustration, however, as discussed the error lies with a third party site. A common error by laterooms unfortunately and one which we are taking up with them.
My sincere apologies, however, we have done our due diligence to ensure that you were not inconvenienced by any delay in our communications.

Apologies & Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunfermline hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very clean bright rooms, would advise to pay for the full breakfast if you did decide to stay as the continental breakfast is very basic. It was a shame as the holiday spoilt due to the noise from the club next door which went on upto 3am. The one novelty was also being woken by a peacock which slept on the roof of one of the buildings opposite our room behind the hotel. Sad to say with not getting to sleep till 3am then woken at 5am by our peacock alarm this wasn't a place to go for relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Literally could not fault one thing about this hotel. Room was beautiful, immaculate and smelled lovely! Bed was comfy and huge, bathroom was stunning with a jacuzzi bath big enough for 2 which was a lovely surprise! Staff couldn't do enough for you, fantastic central location close to everything! The restaurant is amazing, the best Italian food I've had!!

Overall a great stay, would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Didn't see the standard room but the King room was beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 499549Lkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply, unable to sleep until gone 3am due to the noise from the nightclub next door.
Room itself was ok, but would not return - the one thing I wanted was a decent nights sleep, which I didn't get. On a more positive note, the food at the Italian restaurant below was quite nice!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie-the-rodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
168 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms at 29 Bruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms at 29 Bruce Street

Property: Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Address: 29 Bruce Street, Dunfermline KY12 7AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms at 29 Bruce Street 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street is a boutique 17 bedroom hotel and entertainment complex. The Hotel offers affordable luxury and first class entertainment situated in the city centre of Dunfermline. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, satellite tv, dvd players and high speed internet access. With adjoining nightclub and authentic Italian restaurant we believe we offer something to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rooms at 29 Bruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Hotel Dunfermline
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing