We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked to see a show at the Alhambra and decided to stay here. Greeted by a friendly member of staff and shown to our room. Room was very basic but clean and staff let me park my car outside until after 6pm when I moved it to the local car park which is free after 6pm on Saturdays. Breakfast was nice but they ran out of orange juice on the Monday morning therefore an older couple had to go without which was unforgivable considering there were only six people having breakfast. Hotel is situated 5 mins from the theatre and right in the centre of town. We did not hear any noise from the night club next door.
Could be a very nice hotel with a little more effort but OK for the price we paid

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side from nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madgolfer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Two years in a row we have booked this hotel for the BTCC weekend and both times they have phoned to say they have double booked and can't offer us a room. This time they blame late rooms. Last time there were regulars who were more important despite us booking months in advance.This place needs to sort itself out.. Very disappointed.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooms29_Manager, Manager at Rooms at 29 Bruce Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Sir,

Having booked 8 weeks in advance, and having received contact from our staff advising you of the booking error within one hour of your reservation. We feel that the method of your complaint is unwarranted and excessive. We appreciate your frustration, however, as discussed the error lies with a third party site. A common error by laterooms unfortunately and one which we are taking up with them.
My sincere apologies, however, we have done our due diligence to ensure that you were not inconvenienced by any delay in our communications.

Apologies & Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very clean bright rooms, would advise to pay for the full breakfast if you did decide to stay as the continental breakfast is very basic. It was a shame as the holiday spoilt due to the noise from the club next door which went on upto 3am. The one novelty was also being woken by a peacock which slept on the roof of one of the buildings opposite our room behind the hotel. Sad to say with not getting to sleep till 3am then woken at 5am by our peacock alarm this wasn't a place to go for relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Literally could not fault one thing about this hotel. Room was beautiful, immaculate and smelled lovely! Bed was comfy and huge, bathroom was stunning with a jacuzzi bath big enough for 2 which was a lovely surprise! Staff couldn't do enough for you, fantastic central location close to everything! The restaurant is amazing, the best Italian food I've had!!

Overall a great stay, would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Didn't see the standard room but the King room was beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 499549Lkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply, unable to sleep until gone 3am due to the noise from the nightclub next door.
Room itself was ok, but would not return - the one thing I wanted was a decent nights sleep, which I didn't get. On a more positive note, the food at the Italian restaurant below was quite nice!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfie-the-rodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently on work. As it was mid week, the reservations expressed by others about the onsite nightclub did not affect me. It was very peaceful, and a good night's sleep. And frankly, how easy do you think running a town centre hotel is these days? If it was me, I'd have a restaurant, club and rooms too, to try and make ends meet.

The room was fine (a superior one though - £10ish upgrade), if a little cold. Clean throughout, with a decent bed.

Nice bathroom, but for some reason no hot water from the shower, just from bath and sink. I was going to ring down about this as I stood shivering in my towel but, unless I was missing something, there was no phone!

The wifi is poor, fluctuating and occasionally non-existent. The room brochure clarifies that you should expect variable wifi, but in an area without good 3G coverage, it's a bit late by that point to cater for this problem if you want to work.

The breakfast was excellent, even if there was no fresh coffee (just sachets - not good).

Price was good, and overall for a midweek short stay I would come again. Just a few points to fix, and much better than staying in an out of town chain place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior, and ask for one on the street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbonotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After reading previous mixed reviews it was with a little trepidation we chose to stay here; our fears were unfounded. There was a young fellow on reception (and serving in the restaurant) he was friendly, helpful, polite, interested and professional. The first room we were given was unacceptable; small, with a standard double bed looking onto a wall with various fans going. I asked for a different room and we were given a "king room", a large room with a big comfy bed and a fabulous bathroom: the shower was amazing, hot and powerful. I slept like the proverbial log. The breakfast was continental which was more than adequate after the delicious meal we'd enjoyed in the restaurant the night before.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
0.8 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms at 29 Bruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms at 29 Bruce Street

Address: 29 Bruce Street, Dunfermline KY12 7AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: $62 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rooms at 29 Bruce Street 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street is a boutique 17 bedroom hotel and entertainment complex. The Hotel offers affordable luxury and first class entertainment situated in the city centre of Dunfermline. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, satellite tv, dvd players and high speed internet access. With adjoining nightclub and authentic Italian restaurant we believe we offer something to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rooms at 29 Bruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Hotel Dunfermline
Rooms At 29 Bruce Street Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing