We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Went for a wedding and their 'special' rate was overpriced I felt. The whole place is a bit tired looking but clean enough. Some of the fruit in the breakfast buffet was off and we had the world's worst shower which squirted water everywhere, leaving the bathroom a centimetre deep in water but we managed to get 10% off the room for that.

Resoundingly average.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 397 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2009

Had a two night stay when attending a friend's wedding elsewhere in Dunfermline. Not particularly cheap at just under £200 with breakfast. Our room (258) was meant to be a delux room but other than the size of the bed I do not think it warranted the title. Although the bed was comfortable the pillows were lumpy. No mini -bar or fridge and no complimentary water, no air conditioning and windows only open slightly, bathroom was in need of TLC - shower was no more than a dribble, towels were discoloured and paper thin, no tissues provided. There is a small gym but no pool/spa.
The room did have tea/cofee facilities, flat screen LCD TV, CD player, free wi-fi, hair drier, iron and trouser press. There was a room safe but this was broken.
The reception had the cheek to ask if we wanted a morning newspaper, unlike most hotels in this price range who offer complimentary papers, they then charged us for them and didn't deliver them to our room instead we had to collect them from reception. We asked for an extra two hours to check out they charged us £20 even though we checked out after an extra hour. Our bill was wrong and we had to ask them to amend it.
We ate in the bistro but our meal was poor quality - most dishes came with chips, poor quality ingredigents used and most dishes seemed pre-prepared. Bistro menu was almost identical to the A la carte menu of restaurant with a big price difference. Breakfast was disappointing - limited choice of food and again not particularly good quality ingredients - cheap sausages, cheap, dry black pudding and nothing more adventurous than a bog standard fry up.
The bar and garden area were well kept and offered a relaxing space, the rest of the hotel such as the lobby, corridors and rooms badly need modernised.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Attended a wedding in the hote and stayed in a wonderful family room with my two young children. The room was massive and had a king size bed plus two single beds. Couldn't fault the service at the wedding, one of the best meals I've had for ages, the children had their own kids menu too choose from. The gardens for the wedding photographs were wonderful, praise must go to the gardener. The staff were friendly, nothing seemed too much trouble, they even helped my husband with his tie and buttonhole. The bride and groom looked amazing and I must thank them for the wonderful choice of venue. The hotels rooms were spotlesly clean and breakfast the next day had a large choice of cereals, choice of breads and fruits plus a menu to choose a cooked breakfast from. It was nice to be served hot food from the kitchen and not the buffet service you get ina lot of hotels. We stayed on an extra day, and ate in the Bistro,the menu and the food were superb the staff even supplied crayons and pictures to amuse the kids. The only fault was the weather which unfortunately was Scottish weather at its best/worst, still it didn't spoil the weekend. Would definaltey recommend the hotel and can't wait to go back again, nor can my kids. Its a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlairgowrieBelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The beds in our room were very soft and it felt like I was sleeping on a deflating air bed. We were kept awake by a yapping dog along the corridor. On our second morning our breakfast was poor quality and we were served mouldy toast. Not what you expect from a otel of this rating. The coridors and rooms are in need of refurbishment. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pyjamaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Wonderful balance of professionalism and friendliness. I would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irrupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Casnnot understand the odd negative about this super hotel. When we approached any m ember of staff the could`nt be more helpful and so pleasant. The food was just lovely and the rooms spotless. we particularly liked the beautiful gardens opening from the lovely bar area and so quiet and peaceful considering its super position being just a short walkj into town and also the railway station, also very convenient for Edinburgh. It was nice to get back to in the evening from the bustle of the city. Would definately not hesitate to stay here again. This is a privately owned family run hotel which we felt makes a big difference and the owners always seemed to be on hand. All in all a first rate hotel a hidden GEM is this hotel and a bonus too if you want to take your pet.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elcarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Service was good with friendly staff on to make you welcome. The rooms were to a good standard, and the bar was very comfortable. A really good place for a celebration event such as a wedding, which is what we attended there.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billc1Alva_Scotland_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: $71 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing