We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, brilliant staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
1 review
“Nice hotel, brilliant staff!”
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Stayed at the Pitbauchlie for the first time on a recommendation by a friend while attending a family birthday party and I have to say a big thank you to them as it was one of the best hotels I've been to. We recieved a very warm welcome and were delighted with our room that was nice, bright and clean. On our first night we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely dinner and were looked after well by very friendly staff. We then had one or two cocktails in the bar, my only complaint is I couldn't try them all! Our family party the next day was a great success thanks to the staff who couldn't have been more attentive. Great hotel, great staff, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    146
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
77
127
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miranda, ca
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2008

I chose this hotel on booking.com
Rates were reasonable and the staff was very nice and helpful. Yeah, I don't understand the negative reviews below, but my experience was very good. The food wasn't always 5 star, but overall edible and tasty. The rooms were somewhat small, but I could care less about that. It was clean and that is all that matters. Good and fast room service too! The outside was lovely, the inside was very nice. I really liked the dining area with the bar as well. Overall a great experience!

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michellenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I stayed in the hotel as i was attending a wedding in the hotel. First impressions of the hotel was that it looked nice if not abit 'tired'. Reception area was nice and receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were adequate but, not what i thought they would be like. For the money i paid i thought they would have been abit nicer. The room was clean enough but dated. The best thing about our stay was the food, the food was lovely and came in big portions so would definately recommend the restaurant.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Theweeyin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Stayed there for a wedding. Decent enough hotel, staff friendly & helpful, breakfast excellent a drink prices reasonable. The only negative was the room which was clean but a bit shabby and in need of refurbishment.

In summary OK for a night or 2.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Powerranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

Well I must say that I cant understand the very negative reviews as we thought it was a lovely hotel. The room was a wee bit on the smallish side but clean and well presented. The meals could not be faulted. Fantastic food both in the evening and for breakfast. Far better value for money that the hotels in Edinburgh. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

I used to have to stay here quite a lot with work as our office was within 15 minutes walk or so. Having read some of the really bad reviews of this I would have to admit I didnt find it all that bad. Its not a great hotel, and I used to regularly find cobwebs etc in my room, but the bar is OK and food in the restaurant reasonable. Admitedly I probably wouldnt have thought much of the quality against price of the food but I never paid for it so it wasnt a concern to me. To sum up, its ok, but reasonably expensive probably because of business users with not much choice. I would not choose to stay there on leisure.

  • Liked — proximity to Pitreavie business park
  • Disliked — Unclean rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimok78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

This was without a doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Upon arriving we had to wait 40 minutes to check-in, the toilet in our room did not work, staff were rude (when you could actually find a member of staff to speak with). Upon ordering the advertised room service we were told the chef had left and that we would be able to have a bag of crisps or a buttered roll. We noticed that after we had left the hotel had overcharged us and it took a further 3 months and hours of my wife and myselfs time to get the overcharge refunded. It made Fawlty towers look like five star accomadation.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Dunfermline
Travelodge Dunfermline
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Property: Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing