We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improvements Clear!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Improvements Clear!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our last stay here just last week, the 5th time I've stayed here showed some great signs of improvement - no not in the dated aspects of the room with its well-ready for replacement doors and in need of a bathroom refit. But in Art's bistro where the food has improved significantly on previous years and the staff seemed to be more 'can do' than the previous 'can't do' philosophy.

Despite being very busy on the Friday & Saturday night and us getting in late on service there was perhaps too much haste in getting us through our courses even though the restaurant weren't requiring our table for another cover. I guess getting us out so they can set for breakfast was the new priority?

Note to management - never forget the paying customer is your priority not the system that says 2105 set restaurant for breakfast and shuffle people out ASAP.

But there were improvements and for that I've pushed it up from an average.

Room Tip: I;ve no idea if there is a programme of refurbishment - if there is ask for one that's seen a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jud9e_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    138
    64
    18
    12
See reviews for
74
122
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for about four days, taking the price (£60odd for a well-equipped double) into consideration, I can’t fault the place.

Room was nice and clean, albeit a tad dark. Lights were slightly unpleasant, but maybe I’m just silly for being bothered about these things.

Had food several times in the pub, abundant portions, well prepared and competitively priced. Didn’t have a chance to test the proper restaurant, but I’ve heard from other people that it is very nice.

Staff was helpful and very cheery and didn’t mind our requests.

Overall, the hotel could do with a refurb as some parts look rather dated, but still, for the price you really can’t complain. In fact, I find the 80s throwback lobby rather charming.

I’d definitely recommend the hotel to people on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had an amazing weekend, my wonderful husband took me away for a break as I was working too hard. We stayed in a beautiful hotel, the Pitbauchlie House Hotel in Dunfermline and had a wonderful time. Lovely food, very comfortable and staff were all so friendly. Becky the receptionist was exceptionally helpful and Sam, the owner/manager was a breath of fresh air with his stories. We will definitely be returning and would recommend for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked my brothers wake here for after his funeral, and also recommended friends from down south to stay at hotel! staff in attendance were very nice but duty manager and board member could learn communication skills as their lack of thought and communication led to a lot of upset on the day and the following few days, charged us extra for food although we did not ask for any or were consulted about this, several phone calls later led me to speak to..sorry be spoken to by a chairman/board member who was incredibly arrogant and rude and could only utter the words company policy like it was his mantra, according to him the customer is not always right even when it comes to simple communication skills!! needless to say we wont be back and will not be recommending this to anyone again as a venue!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhappy939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pitbauchlie House Hotel.

As previously discussed it is our policy to cater for extra guests that attend a funeral tea. We are often thanked for how expediently we provide this service.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the upset you feel has been caused to your family.

I am sorry that we were unable to resolve the situation to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 14th Feb 2014 checked into room to find no towels, disgusting marks in toilet pan and 1/2 a toilet roll. Phoned reception to be told by receptionist that as they had let us check in early which was untrue as we had lunch first then checked in at 2pm, that the room hadn't been serviced properly! What?. The toilet did get cleaned when we went for evening meal but not serviced as promised! Onto the good points our meal and wait staff were 100 percent and thank you to them for a lovely meal! Won't stay again though!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Pitbauchlie House Hotel.
Please accept our apologies that your restroom had not been completely serviced on the day of your visit. This should not have occurred and I have stressed the importance of this to the head housekeeper. I am so glad that we were able to complete the task later in the day.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the Valentine Dinner and that you felt the meal and service was “100 percent” on the day. We have passed on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Had drinks here with several friends last Friday. Staff were friendly and efficient. Good choice of drinks and prices reasonable. Hotel very comfortable and just the right level of posh. The hotel is also in a good location in Dunfermline. Car park very dark though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank superduperScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you found both the hotel to your liking.
I believe that there had been a bulb blown in one of our car park lights, this had now been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamstown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My family and I spent one night in the hotel in May before our departure from Scotland, returning to South Africa. It was ideally located for our purposes being close to a railway connection for sightseeing in Edinburgh and within easy reach of the Edinburgh Airport where we had to be the following morning. It was also an easy drive from central Dunfermline where we found a nice restaurant. The hotel staff were professional but somewhat unfriendly and mechanical. The room was a family room which was ideal for our purposes. All-in-all, the hotel was unexceptional but we were happy and because of the hotel's convenience we would stay there again if it was a quick stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockmcconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that we may welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.1 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.2 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Property: Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing