We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service. Average food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service. Average food.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In a hotel of this calibre you expect good service. This was not the case this evening. On leaving (as we got fed up waiting for someone to clear our table and ask if we needed anything), we told the barman who took our bill. He gave a half-hearted apology and mumbled something about the place being busy. Well it must have been busy somewhere else, because the Bistro certainly wasn't.


One also ask to ask the question that why take our booking if they could not organise their tables.


The food was ok, but really just ordinary pub food, served in a more posher venue. You could get just the same meal at a local pub for much less.


Nice venue. But staff need more training - when main meal arrived after a long delay between starter, there was no apology for the wait we had had.


Don't think I would go back. Plenty of cheaper places in town, with better service, for the same meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanarkshiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    142
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
75
126
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while at a friends 50th birthday party, very friendly welcome, lovely spacious room, huge bed, good breakfast, however shower rubbish, trickled out! And the room was so so hot!!, overall was very nice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, would definitely stay again. Staff helpful and friendly. Easy trip by rail into Edinburgh from Inverkeithing 10 minutes away by car. Food very good, breakfast plentiful, lovely views from both rooms and restaurant areas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyn0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really enjoyed my 3 day stay at the Pitbauchlie House with my mad German Shepherd dog. The staff all made a fuss of her - even the manager when she tried to leap over the reception desk! My room was very nicely furnished & really clean with a nice view over the garden. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a weekend here and were very pleasantly surprised, we thought it was more than a three star. The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way, the room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was clean, and the bar prices were reasonable. We didnt use any of the restaurant facilities so can't comment on them. The shower wasn't particularly powerful but did the job. Definite value for money and within a short drive to lots of facilities. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicklross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Charming little hotel in Dunfermline. Stayed a few days in the nearby King Malcolm, but had to move as that was very poor.

The staff at Pitbauchlie are friendly and will remember you. As fairly regular guests over a couple of months, they remembered us from our second visit onwards, and even moved our bags we left previously to our rooms before we even arrived.

There are two restaurants at the site, a "bistro" which is fine for a quick bite, and a more "formal" dining. The latter is much slower, so don't go if in a rush, but the food is very good. Breakfast is top notch, with the full works available.

Definitely enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are slightly more expensive but larger and more comfortable. Single/twin bed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lestmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had five nights here last week, 22/07/13 - 27/07/13. The room was very clean, quite big & comfortable. Access to WiFi was first rate & free, the safe was useful & we enjoyed having a bath with shower over it, small bathroom but perfectly good. There isn't a lift but the stairs are easy, only up one floor.
The staff were very friendly, and the Bistro very nice for an evening meal. Sitting in the garden which is beautiful was very peaceful.
Really great to get the train into Edinburgh, parking at Dunfermline station is free. & 5 minutes up the road by car.
The atmosphere here is lovely, very relaxed, not stuffy but very pleasant. We would recommend this hotel to friends & hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simba2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.2 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Property: Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing