We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know what you're getting ”

The Guildhall & Linen Exchange
Ranked #68 of 208 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: International, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Had a meal here on a Saturday night... quick, well cooked & hot for a fair price. You can't beat the consistency of a wetherspoons different in style, but you always know what you're getting. Staff were friendly & considerent. The only thing you can't do is leave a tip because you pay at the time if ordering.

Thank Georgiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Guildhall_Team, Manager at The Guildhall & Linen Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Hi Georgiemac,

Many thanks for taking time to leave us a review.
Im glad you enjoyed your visit. we do aim to deliver consistently good value on our fantastic range of drink and food and im delighted to hear you were pleased with the demeanor of our staff. Here at Wetherspoons we don't accept tips, however if you do ever feel so inclined as to reward our hard work, we appreciate any donations to our charity CLIC Sergant.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2017

Went in for pint and when we could not get a wheelchair in the small lift (chair just too long) friendly waitress cleared adjacent table next to serving hatch no trouble.
Place was very busy but service was good and what we could see the food appeared to be good as well , good range of cask ales and good service from the male barstaff
Will definitely be back and recommend , pity about their branch , The Crossed Peels in Stirling which has very poor service .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ukbobdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Guildhall_Team, Manager at The Guildhall & Linen Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Hi ukbobdog,

Many thanks for taking time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and found us accommodating to your needs. we do try to ensure we can make every single customers experience pleasant. Of course, our ales change regularly so be sure to visit again to see what delights we have on in future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Having reviewed a few wetherspoons over the place, one wetherspoons is very much the same as the next a queue to wait in, a sticky tables, cheaper drinks, wobbly chairs, average food, usually pleasant staff, you know what to expect, and this one is no different, very busy place.probably not enough staff.

Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Guildhall_Team, Manager at The Guildhall & Linen Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Hi author55,

Many thanks for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and I have passed the information on to the relevant teams to address your points going forward. We are trying different ways of reducing queuing times which is getting faster as we go on. Hopefully if visiting again you will notice a marked improvement in all of our standards as we continue to improve for all of our customers.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Relaxing and spacious (mid week!) and nice food. Attentive staff and good value for money. Centrally located.

Thank RRennie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Guildhall_Team, Manager at The Guildhall & Linen Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Hi RRennie_12,

Many thanks for taking time to leave us a review. Im glad you enjoyed your visit, and found the staff and value to be to a good standard. We work hard to make sure we give the customer the best value possible and our staff are always keen to try and help whenever they can. I have passed your comments onto the relevant teams.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We ordered breakfast after arriving at an empty pub with staff screaming and laughing. We were asked to take a seat and someone would come over. After ten minutes my husband went to the bar and was told orders were taken at the bar. The ordered breakfast came out instantly partly burnt but not hot and the waitress noticed the sausage were missing and went back to kitchen for them but they didn't arrive. 20 minutes later I complained and told the seemingly standard "we'll raise it with staff and change practice" they really need to. Service food and cleanliness not great and we were the only customers. Left with a full refund and had a nicer breakfast at cafe Nero
Avoid! Management please don't insult me with the standard response!

4  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Guildhall_Team, Manager at The Guildhall & Linen Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Hi Claire T

I am Sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your visit. I understand completely that this is not acceptable and we appreciate your feedback on the matter. I have passed your comments on to the team and we are working proactively to make sure every customer gets the service they expect and deserve.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guildhall & Linen Exchange also viewed

 
Dunfermline, Fife
Dunfermline, Fife
 
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to The Guildhall & Linen Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing