We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very disappointing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bombay Brasserie - CLOSED

Bombay Brasserie
Cuisines: French, Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So very disappointing.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I have just this second finished a take away meal from this restaurant. It's the first time we have tried it and we were really hopeful for a good result given all the positive reviews that the restaurant has had. When we arrived, the place was buzzing and pretty much full - good sign. The staff were really friendly and quick to take our order. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge area while we waited on our order then quickly headed home to enjoy it. We love indian food and had ordered our favourite dishes but to say we were disappointed is a massive understatement. Our chicken tikka starter was a miniscule sized portion of cubed chicken that tasted - at best - bland. We had chicken tikka masala for the main course which the menu described as "a medium spiced curry" but sadly it lacked any trace of spice or flavour and the sauce was incredibly thin and watery. I really, really wanted to have had a different experience of this restaurant. Maybe it was just an off night but I'm afraid it has put us off going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tecuhter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    23
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Popped into Bombay Brasserie on the off chance last night with 3 friends and only had a short wait to be seated in what I would describe as a lovely resteraunt.Toilets were very clean at 10pm on a friday night. Food was excellent and the staff were very attentive. It had a very good atmosphere and I most certainly would go back again. My only regret is that my stomach wasn,t big enough to eat my generous portions of South Indian Garlic Chicken and my Chicken Tikka Cara.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT RESTAURANT WITH AMAZING FOOD”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

came here for a meal a few weekends ago, had a great time. good food, great atmosphere and excellent service. A nice addition to the town that was missing just what they deliver. Will be back time and time again! Thanks guys see you soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank missrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelty, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really disappointed after reading good reviews-won't be back”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Read great reviews so decided to try. Booked same day but was assured there was space. Arrived at 7.30 when table booked but left to sit for 15 mins with no explanation and no menu/ drink offered. Got table and starters fairly quick, but then waited until after 9pm for main course. We weren't alone, others nearby were waiting too. Seemed to be loads of staff out front but nobody offered to top up drinks or apologise for wait until around 8.45 when we were promised it would be 5 minutes. Food was ok when it did arrive but the rice was warm, not hot. So hungry would have eaten anything by this point.. Appreciate it can be busy on a Friday, but a few kind words or an explanation now and then would have smoothed things over. As it stands we won't be back again as the impression we left with was that the place is so busy the staff just don't really care. Should have stuck to tried and tested restaurants in Dunfermline as there are many much better than this. Don't like being left sitting for a while either when you arrive - if tables aren't available then book them for later!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel4871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan M, Manager at Bombay Brasserie, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi Hazel, Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Bombay Brasserie. As you can see our service is something that we pride ourselves on and this is certainly completely out of character for the team to leave someone stranded over such a long duration. For that I would like to apologise. As you said Fridays do become busy, but, it is not through a lack of caring that these scenarios occur but the opposite. The team are often so focused on caring and giving everyone the best service that in rare occasions it can get overwhelming. I hope you can appreciate that whilst on the outside we aim to keep things as calm as possible, the workings in the background are often extremely active. With orders coming in from multiple directions (sitting in, telephone orders, collection orders, deliveries and JustEat) the kitchens productivity is at the mercy of more than one aspect.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention it will be something that we address going forward, if you do find that you can forgive us and come back please let us know when you book and I will personally make sure you that your service is just as fantastic, if not better, than the rest of our regular customers and fans.

Regards

Adnan
Team BB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service, no matter how busy”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've eaten here 3 times now, all Friday/Saturday evenings, including the 16th February when it was exceptionally busy. The food and service is consistently good, across all the dishes we've tried so far, regardless of how busy the restaurant is. We were there in January when it was a little quieter - still a lovely ambience. We'll be back soon :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan M, Manager at Bombay Brasserie, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for your review Yorkie252, really appreciate that you took the time to let us know.

I agree January is a quieter month, but we enjoy the fact that we can spend more time with the customers during these periods.

I hope to see you again soon and we really appreciate your custom!

Thanks
Adnan
Team BB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Brasserie also viewed

Limekilns, Dunfermline
Rosyth, Dunfermline
 
Dunfermline, Fife
 
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing