We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freshest scones and cakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot House Heritage Centre

Abbot House Heritage Centre
Ranked #8 of 48 things to do in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
766 reviews
318 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Freshest scones and cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The history of this building is well laid out for visitors with highly descriptive panels give yourself at least Half an hour to explore the museum upstairs, there is also a gift shop and tea room on the ground floor with beautiful views of the Abbey and Graveyard , on good days spend time in the sun with fresh sandwiches and the most delightful freshly made scones and cakes utter bliss on a warm day with the church bells ringing A must for locals and visitors alike.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank craigluscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmchugh, Manager at Abbot House Heritage Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your enthusiastic review, and for visiting us at Abbot House! Our cakes and scones are made daily by our wonderful chef, who works hard to make sure that they are made from the best local ingredients and taste amazing, too! We hope you'll visit us again soon: our new exhibition, Voices from the Past, opens on Friday, 25 April, and will be the summer's must-see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hot lunch here after a dog walk round pittencrief park.
They allow dogs in !
It's on the dugs n pubs site.

I had the "belter" and my wife had a baked potato - both EXCELLENT !

The biggest surprise though was the amazing coffee ... Go elsewhere in Dunfermline and you can't match it.
I will be a regular from now on.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmchugh, Manager at Abbot House Heritage Centre, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of Abbot House. We are glad you found us through Dugs n Pubs, and that you were able to enjoy the lovely park before visiting us. It is a wonderful place for a walk, and a bit of squirrel chasing. We look forward to seeing all three of you often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, stunning location and dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Despite staying in Dunfermline for over 10 years I'm ashamed to say that this was my first visit to the Abbot House cafe. All I can say is I've been missing out.

Food was superb and well priced and the best thing is that it's dog friendly. Great to have a place where you can take Dogs in Dunfermline.

Keep up the good work!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmchugh, Manager at Abbot House Heritage Centre, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us at Abbot House! We are really glad that you and your furry friend enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Abbot house is a fantastic museum, the gardens are beautiful even at this time of year. Such a peaceful haven in town. The shop has some lovely and unusual items plus beers from the onsite brewery, yum. We had tea an scones in the cafe, which was fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorrain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmchugh, Manager at Abbot House Heritage Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us at Abbot House. We are so appreciative of your positive feedback, and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS ABBOT HOUSE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

As the name implies, this was the abbot's house and is well worth visiting. The meals, I believe, are prepared by volunteers and are always enjoyable. I like to have lunch in the delightful garden if the weather is suitable, perhaps with a peacock from the nearby park as a companion, or a pigeon, hoping for crumbs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malbye2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devmchugh, Manager at Abbot House Heritage Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us (and our avian friends!) at Abbot House. We are very appreciative of your positive feedback, and glad that you enjoy your visits here. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbot House Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Abbot House Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing