We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and great food!”

Limekilns Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #27 of 186 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and great food!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went along to try something new, and the service was really personal with some nice chat with the owner. Probably the difference between chain/franchise and a private restaurant.

Food was really nice, house red was lovely, atmosphere was great and price was not too bad either! :)

All in all very good - we'll be going back with others next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambushed,at breakfast for more money!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Phoned up and booked a room for one night at an agreed price, my plans then changed so I booked the room for a further 3 nights at the same price. The next morning the owner stated that the room was charged at the wrong rate and that he would honour the price for the night I had stayed but would require a further 40% increase on the remaining days, was nearly going to pay but his take it or leave it attitude and the fact that they did not have the decency to knock or leave a note annoyed me greatly. I was then late for a meeting as I had to pack my room. Very annoying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mart137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy in Fife”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stopped here for 3 nights, Wow..... Superb room with amazing view of marina. All the facilities that youd want at a great price. The food in the restaurant was absolutely stunning, great menu and super staff

Helpful?
Thank leeatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“lovely place to visit.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have eaten here before and the food is very good. I man who welcomed us and served us our drinks could offer a bit more customer service. However the waiting staff were very pleasant. Wine was not chilled and a table ordered ice to put in there wine (not good). Scenery was lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia050758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fife Coastal Path”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here on day 1 of walking the Fife Coastal Path. Had a room at the top of the house with fantastic views. Ate a meal at night int the Bistro which was excellent. Loved the puddings - sticky toffee and caramel shortcake sundae - yum! Short on staff at the time but staff coped very well and were very friendly. Breakfast next morning was made fresh and was plentiful to help us on our way the next day. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mogli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limekilns Hotel and Bistro also viewed

Limekilns, Dunfermline
Limekilns, Dunfermline
 
Limekilns, Dunfermline
 

Been to Limekilns Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing