We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pub in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Kings Pub

Seven Kings Pub
Ranked #20 of 180 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunfermline
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pub in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This pub is most definitely the best pub in town and if I'm out its always the place I go.

The food is good and great value with quite a few different deals on each day.

They have a really good selection of products behind the bar too!

The staff are friendly and the service is always great considering how busy the pub can get! It can sometimes be a problem to get seats on busy days but you always get a brilliant atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ldizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    81
    58
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Last of the Summer Wine review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are 4 guys in our 60's that have breakfast every Tuesday. Bob one of us can only be compared to Victor Meldrew on speed. The breakfast is excellent as is the service and given the early morning the young ladies that make up the staff are excellent and are always cheery with a bit of banter. We had a lunch there at Xmas and again excellent. There is a great choice of meals and beers in this very well run bar/restaurant which is directly opposite to the Glen Gates with Andrew Carnegie's statue looking on. Would most certainly recommend the seven kings for bar meals.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sapper795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
1 review
“stupid rules”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

myself a friend and my 19 year old daughter went for a bar lunch yesterday . Was asked to move to the family section as my daughter didnt have her id with her.Cant see the difference sitting in the actual pub as she wasnt even having an alchoholic drink. Finally sat in pub after having to get a friend to bring her id. Food was nice but some staff not very friendly as i comlained to the manager about the situation we were having. Sorry wont be back and if you take anyone who doesnt look 18 please take id or your placed with children.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 809666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenKings2014, General Manager at Seven Kings Pub, responded to this review, February 16, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments back in 2013. I was not the manager back at that time and appreciate your situation was not ideal. Any feedback is helpful and your review was used in one of our training sessions which has prompted me to get in touch to thank you and perhaps to hope that you have since given us another try. Since your visit, there is no exclusions on where people choose to sit. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tuesday Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

4 of us have breakfast here most Tuesdays.The staff are all very pleasant , helpful and very professional. The breakfast is exceptionally good value for money,well prepared and better than a few four star hotels. Thank you for past and foreseeable future breakfasts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve to be this popular.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The Seven Kings is one of the busiest pubs in Dunfermline, so if you're on a night out there, you should probably visit; and I'm ashamed to say that I continue to do so. Ashamed because they have the second worst set of staff I have ever come across - first place goes to The Chandos, Trafalgar Square. I have been using this pub for a couple of years and seen lots of staff come and go, but they are ALL experts in avoiding eye contact. Their proficiency in this, and looking busy whilst doing nothing is such, that I can only assume it's part of their training.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Kings Pub also viewed

Dunfermline, Fife
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to Seven Kings Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing