We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”
Review of The City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for about 8 weeks whilst in the area working - facilities excellent and right in the city center - Staff very friendly and make you very welcome especially Declan and Mary in the bar who always have time for a bit of a chat when they are not polishing cuttlery. Yes there are a lot of seagulls about making a lot of noise but not a lot the management and staff can do about this after a while you become oblivious to it anyway

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear billyboy766,

Thank you very much for your review following your long stay in our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you found our staff all very welcoming and I will relay this to the previously mentioned staff members. We appreciate all feedback from our customers and continuously strive to improve in all aspects of the business.

We do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    64
    24
    24
See reviews for
59
80
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Ended up going here for an evening meal due to the nearby 'Seven Kings' being overly busy and no seats available.
Managed to get or party of six people seated easily. When we arrived, around 6 o'clock on a Saturday evening, the place was not what you would say buzzing.
Nevertheless, we were served for drinks promptly. The restaurant area appears clean enough but does not have what I would consider to be a modern setting, we never sat out in the conservatory area which for obvious reasons appeared brighter and more welcoming. The interior would benefit from a splash of white or light coloured paint to brighten it up.
The food came in good time and was very good, to say I was impressed would be an understatement. Decent pub grub type fare but vey nice indeed.
Drinks for everyone including a couple of bottles of wine the total cost was extremely reasonable and very palatable. I would definately return here instead of the 'Seven Kings' for food.
By the time we left the restaurant was busying up and I felt the faintest hint of atmosphere. However don't let this put you off, this place is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GDMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear GDMc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following a recent visit to our Weavers Restaurant.

We are really pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our prompt service and high standard of customer service. The City Hotel has a traditional style although this may not be to everyone's taste, we do hope to continue to add more comfortable features to our Weavers Restaurant.

We hope that should you be back in the area in the future we might welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal.waited 30 mins from finishing main meal.to a member of staff coming to us.would have had dessert.but wasnt prepared to wait anothet 30 mins.excuse was there was no one to change the barrels on the beer.not good enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank les7269_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel on business. Five sleepless nights in a room next to a derelict building full of seagulls and pigeons that screamed and screeched all night long, and if not the seagulls then the participants of the Kareoke downstairs, not the most relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Don't take room 11, although others in our group stayed in rooms overlooking the street which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

this hotel is in the center of the town of Dunfermline the rooms have plenty space but the public areas are a bit run down
I would stay again because of the good location however it is a little pricey for what you get
go to a bed and breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_The_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

this hotel is right in the center of Dunfermline we were at a wedding there.
I have to say the place that the wedding was in is all a bit run down looking
however the rooms were large and spacious and clean
If I was visiting the town I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Adequate hotel and 4 days were enough.
Needs a good clean and decoration (professionally). Evidence of poor d.i.y. everywhere.
WiFi connection poor and a serious challenge. Unacceptable in today's world.
OK if you just want a bed and a reasonable breakfast.
Front desk staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bressane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Hotel

Property: The City Hotel
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing