We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay for perfect weekend”
Review of The City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The City Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2013

stayed for 2 nights over the weekend 13/14 july in order to attend a friends wedding nearby. on arrival at the hotel i was greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. i stayed in executive room 3 and it was perfect. luvly sized bed, very comfortable, nice sized bathroom and very clean. after checking in and unpacking, i then ate at the Weavers restaurant, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced.
in the morning, there was a wide variety on offer for breakfast, all of which was wonderful.
the staff over the weekend were very friendly and courteous. would definitely stay again if i have the opportunity to visit Dunfermline.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for The City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in order to attend a friend's wedding close by. On arrival we were treated very warmly and efficiently booked in. We stayed in room 15 which was an executive room, clean, large and very comfortable bed. On the first night we ate in the Weavers restaurant......excellent service and great food, very reasonably priced too! Breakfast was also excellent as was the service again on both mornings.
I would definitely recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Called in around 2pm on a Saturday for a bar lunch. The place was not very busy which tells a tale. Seated in a nice airy room with big picture windows overlooking the car park. The table was not cleaned from the previous occupants so our waiter took the place mats away then returned 5 minutes later to wipe the table top crumbs into our laps. Only about 85% of the table top though, he stopped short of the end!
My wife ordered the chilli con carne and I went for the 10oz rib eye steak, rare.
The food was served fairly quickly, but my steak was brought out on a sizzling plate, still cooking. It arrived at the table quite rare, but the waitress then went off to get my dinner plate, vegetables, chips and whisky sauce. By the time she arrived back with this my steak was medium to well done, cooking away on the sizzling plate, and until the waitress came back I had nowhere to put it to prevent it cooking, other than spearing it with my knife and holding it dangling above the table!
Despite that it was a nice tender piece of steak. The whisky sauce had the faintest of whisky flavours, they must have just wafted it past the bottle. It was a generous portion but very, very rich and creamy.The carrots and string beans were served on a cold side plate and had rapidly cooled.
My wife's chilli was - in her own words - a bit "cornmeal"? Basically it was ok, spicy enough for her but nothing spectacular.
One beer, one soft drink and a bill for just under £25 so quite reasonable for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dangerousbryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

When I rang the hotel 2 months ahead to make a booking, the receptionist said they only had one double room which was small and ... She was obviously not out to sell that room. When I went online, they had lots of rooms so we chose an Executive Room. We got room 31. The Scottish interpretation of "executive" is obviously a room with one 1 metre by 0.5 metre window set 2 metres above floor level offering only a view of the sky and roofs, where there is only one chair (for the executive to hold his meetings), no table (to hold important papers), where a large part of the floor space is taken by a stairway leading to a locked door. Not to be repeated @ £75 a night

Room Tip: Check out the room before accepting and moving in.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The City Hotel is a very warm and welcoming hotel in the lovely city of Dunfermline. First built in 1775 it holds on to its age whilst stepping into modern times. Situated in the hart of the city providing the visitor the opportunity to stroll around and take in St Margaret’s Abby and the wonderful park near by. Our room was very comfortable having facilities and has been tastefully furnished and decorated. The hotel also offers free tea and coffee making facilities also free Wi-Fi. The Scottish breakfast was excellent and the evening meal ideal from our large group of over 50 people. Not all were staying at the hotel but it was the ideal location to meet up prior to the wedding the following day when over 200 enjoyed a fabulous day at a local golf course. If there is a down side it could be the noise from the evening entertainment, however this can be enjoyed so take the opportunity. As a regular visitor to Dunfermline I will now give great consideration to staying at the City Hotel rather than put family out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thats not above the entertainment room. However take the opportunity to enjoy the ent...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the hotel on anything but one thing which is noise at night from street from drinkers .luckily I did have ear plugs because of mums snoring but as they fell out a couple of times,I did hear the noise from drinkers from pubs.the hotel does have 2bars also open to public(1that has karaoke fri&sat nt) but we didn't hear any of it in room 19 (early night with our mum to watch soaps)which is a family room &was clean,comfortable & the double bed alone could have fitted the 3 of us was so big.we had a pull down couch which was already made up on arrival.had meal & breakfast,both delicious & very helpful staff.is 2minute walk from st Margaret's cave,the wonderful pittencrieff park,5minute from abbey&palace & many more tourist attractions.enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weller10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hi Weller10_11

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us feedback.

We are really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate hearing your kind comments on your experience in Room 19.

We take on board the noise issues which you raised, which unfortunately are inevitable for any hotel located in a town or city centre. We do our very best to minimise the inconvenience to our guests in anyway we can, but from time to time, particularly at busy weekends there may be a small level of noise in certain rooms. We hope that the convenience of our central location outweigh this though and that it does not detract from our guests enjoying their stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the city hotel while attending a concert at the Alhambra theatre it was actually our second stay at the hotel after a previous concert and we will always return to the city, I cannot understand the negative comments, on both visits we have been very pleased with everything about the hotel friendly helpfull staff great price for superb accomodation fantastic restaurant for cleanliness,food and price, we had a 3 course dinner for 2 for £25, location is excellent for shopping and a 5 miniute walk to the alhambra and to finish off our stay a breakfast that was second to none. The second we walked into into the hotel there was just a lovely clean smell about the place as you can tell i can not praise the hotel highly enough and beleve me i have no connection with the hotel at all just a very satisfied customer i dont usually write reviews but as i said earlier i cannot understand the negative comments and wanted to tell about our experience, does nobody watch 4 in a bed and see what some places charge £100 plus per night and see what they get for that, give me the city hotel anyday, we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grants539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi Grants539,

Thank you very much for leaving us feedback following your recent stay with us.

We love to hear our guests comments and appreciate the time taken to relay your experiences to us. As a family business we take guest satisfaction very seriously so its great to hear from our happy customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Hotel

Address: 18 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range: $64 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing