We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great stay”
Review of The City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the city hotel while attending a concert at the Alhambra theatre it was actually our second stay at the hotel after a previous concert and we will always return to the city, I cannot understand the negative comments, on both visits we have been very pleased with everything about the hotel friendly helpfull staff great price for superb accomodation fantastic restaurant for cleanliness,food and price, we had a 3 course dinner for 2 for £25, location is excellent for shopping and a 5 miniute walk to the alhambra and to finish off our stay a breakfast that was second to none. The second we walked into into the hotel there was just a lovely clean smell about the place as you can tell i can not praise the hotel highly enough and beleve me i have no connection with the hotel at all just a very satisfied customer i dont usually write reviews but as i said earlier i cannot understand the negative comments and wanted to tell about our experience, does nobody watch 4 in a bed and see what some places charge £100 plus per night and see what they get for that, give me the city hotel anyday, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grants539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Grants539,

Thank you very much for leaving us feedback following your recent stay with us.

We love to hear our guests comments and appreciate the time taken to relay your experiences to us. As a family business we take guest satisfaction very seriously so its great to hear from our happy customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    77
    66
    24
    24
See reviews for
60
82
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here with a friend as we were going to a concert at the Alhambra. The location is brilliant - right in the city centre, near to the bars and shops. When we arrived our booking was wrong (I had initially booked for 1 person however changed it to 2 and this hadn't been updated). We were given a small double room however when we spoke to the reception staff this was quickly sorted and we were given 2 single rooms. We often had to look for someone on reception which isn't ideal when you have to hand in your keys however fortunately someone was never too far away so we didn't have to wait too long. My only real complaint was the amount of notices telling us what we couldn't do - e.g. no takeaways in the rooms, do not touch the curtains... This ruined it slightly. We had a few drinks in the restaurant before going out and the staff were very friendly. The bar prices were also very reasonable. We will definitely stay here again and are already planning a trip at the end of the year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisesu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi louisesu2001,

Thank you very much for leaving us feedback following your recent stay with us.

We love to hear our guests comments, and as a family business take customer satisfaction very seriously.

We are pleased to hear you had a very enjoyable stay. We take on board your comments with regards signage in the hotel. We are committed to upholding the standards of cleanliness and therefore like to state our policies to guests, on matters such a takeaways and smoking so that upholstery and decor in our rooms can be kept fresh and spotlessly clean for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I travelled from Edinburgh on a cold and wintery Sunday for our first visit to Dunfermline. We liked the look of the City Hotel and decided to have lunch. The staff were most welcoming and as we were shown to a table I noticed an elderly gent working on his laptop at a nearby table. I asked if wifi was available for an iPad and the waitress told me to ask the manageress at the bar. When I asked the fair haired manageress she asked if I were a guest. When I said that we were only in for lunch she said that it was for residents only. Our lunch was excellent and the staff very chatty but all for the sake of a few minutes wifi our memory of Dunfermline is tainted.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear granPaisley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following a recent visit to our Weavers Restaurant.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal, and to recieve your kind comments about the customer service you received from our waiting staff.

Please accept my apologies that you were dissapointed that wifi was not available in our restaurant. Unfortunately the wifi signal can not be picked up through out the whole restaurant area and therefore is not something that we advertise or offer to diners. It is a complimentary service that we provide to hotel guests and can only be guaranteed to be picked up in the accommodation areas of the hotel.

Regardless of this we hope that should you find yourself in the Dunfermline area we might welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunfermline hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night ahead of a meeting the following day, paying only £35 b&b for a single.
Free parking underneath the hotel was welcome, given the snowy conditions. Staff here are the hotel's best asset. As a single traveller, it's great to feel welcome at the bar and join in the conversation.
Food was keenly priced and well presented.
The noisy revellers in the street broke my sleep several times through the night. If you are a light sleeper then bring earplugs. The room was warm enough, and the bathroom looked like it had been spruced up recently. Only gripe is that the lack of a mirror in the bedroom made drying my hair awkward.
Will definitely be back next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Owner at The City Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Carlislecat,

Thank you very much for leaving a review on trip advisor following your recent stay with us.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be welcoming and friendly. I will be sure to relay your comments to them.

As a family business we are constantly striving to ensure we offer the best possible value for money and customer service to our guests and take all feedback on board.

We hope to welcome you back to the City Hotel should you be back in the area in the future.

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

After reading reviews my friends and I were weary about booking here. However we had booked tickets to the Alhambra and found this hotel in a good location. We stayed for 2 nights and had breakfast both Days of my stay and had no complaints full fry up set us up for the day ahead. There were about 12 of us and not one of us could complain. Rooms were spotless needing a little updating but we could see this was in progress. Staff were very friendly from the receptionist to the cleaners up in the rooms. The price for being in the town centre was definitely reasonably cheap so value for money. I see all these bad reviews however if u want 5 star treatment then u have to expect to pay 5 star prices. However for the money we paid for the room and to get breakfast included I would definitely recommend it to others

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sean M,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on trip advisor following your stay over the festive period.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be good value for money. It is also always nice to receive compliments on the customer service you received from our staff, which I will be sure to relay to them.

We hope that we might welcome you back again to the City Hotel in the near future,

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had our family Xmas dinner at the city as per usual we found it lovely. Many of my family members have never been and were well impressed. I eat here regularly and never had a bad meal. Staff were friendly, nice family feel to the place. Prices are very reasonable for being right in the town centre. I have read lots of the other reviews and can't see why people are so negative towards this place ad definitely advise people to try it before listening to all the horrible reviews. I certainly will continue to eat there. Right from the minute we entered the receptionist Leanne was very welcoming. So keep up the good work guys no matter the reviews say al be back x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Julie M,

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor.

It is always nice to hear from our regular diners, and thank you for your kind comments with regards your experiences in our Weavers Restaurant. We constantly strive to provide the best possible value for money and customer service to our guests so it is lovely to receive your feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your christmas meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

An average but cheap hotel, you do get what you pay for but i found this to a decent enough hotel for what you pay, rooms are tidy and clean, not the largest but clean/tidy and warm with all that is needed. Food is very basic but again plentyful and filling, not five star but then you are not paying five star prices.

I found my stay cheap but cheerful, the staff were great, the room ideal for the 3 days, you pay for what you get but i would stay there again and would recommend staying here if you were hiking or using it as a base for sightseeing

Room Tip: Get a room to the back to avoid the bar/road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_City_Hotel_12, Manager at The City Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Garry100129101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay with us.

We really appreciate hearing about our guests experiences, and are constantly striving to ensure we offer the best possible value for money and customer service to our customers.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the meal you had in our Weavers Restaurant.

We hope that should you be back in the area in the future we might welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Hotel

Property: The City Hotel
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing