We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weavers Bar great fun, Room lovely, wouldn't eat there again!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The City Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weavers Bar great fun, Room lovely, wouldn't eat there again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We were booked into the hotel on 2nd April, we'd booked a standard room. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to an executive room, which was very nice of them to do. The staff on reception were a bit preoccupied with their own discussion, which annoyed me slightly, however we managed to get booked in and she told us everything we needed to know. We found the bedroom ok, Room 32. Lovely, nicely decorated and clean. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and plenty of towels for us to use. The room was very noisy, it backed onto a carpark which had a nightclub next to it, the shouting and fighting was still going on at 4am! Not great and perhaps we should have been warned about this. Breakfast was served between 8am and 10am, perhaps in view of the noise from the night before they should extend breakfast until 11am as we were completely shattered. Breakfast was awful, there was no menu to tell us what was on offer, the waitress approached our table and asked "2 full english?" which we thought was all on offer, apart from cereal set out on the bar, so we said yes. Part of the breakfast was uncooked, the sausage on both of our plates was white, the bacon was raw, the potato scone was soaked in grease and the baked beans were cold, terrible! However tea and coffee were plentiful and a round of toast was on the table so we stuck with that. We spent a few hours in Weavers bar on the Saturday night and it was a great atmosphere, the staff were fantastic and there was karaoke on which was great fun.

Mixed feelings about this hotel really, it was lovely and friendly, room was clean and tidy but the noise from the nightclub and the breakfast definitely let it down.

Room Tip: Great for a fun night out in the town clubbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyNene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    63
    24
    22
See reviews for
54
78
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Comfortable and friendly hotel. Staff amazingly friendly and efficiant.
Rooms clean and comfortable.
Resturant good quality and value.

Car Park at the back of the hotel.

Centrally located to visit attractions around Scotland.

Would positivley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raine42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

The staff was wonderful. Always pleasant, friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was OK. Typical Scottish choices. Have had better bacon, haggis and black pudding. Plentiful, but mediocre.
Rooms were extremely noisy weekend nights. High street had a perpetual party until the wee hours and the other rooms overlooking the huge public parking lot were treated to surrounding pub noise. Maybe when it gets cold and people stay indoors it will be quieter.
Beds are made of concrete or cotton balls. Heating is uneven and uncontrollable. There are strange steps in awkward places in several bathrooms. The staff will let you switch rooms if they have space, but may not have anthing comfortable.
No room service but you can go down to the restaurant and they will let you take a tray up.
No porters - lots of stairs, but kitchen staff took the bags upstairs for us.
Very convenient location in the middle of town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasJerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Lovely atmosphere wonderful staff and very well priced. We were recommended this hotel through friends and I can say it was worth every pound. Rooms are spacious, bathroom with full bath can be termed as big and lovely jets of warm water all the time. We were three in a room, excellent clean, room service every day and no shortage of towels. Staff simply excellent, enough to say that on departure since the plane was early we missed breakfast and the staff volunteered to give us a packed lunch for the plane. The hotel is just five mins from the bus station which has buses to all destinations and just opposite is a lovely park. Five minutes away is a busy shopping street with all the main names and the shopping is excellent. Breakfast is generous including a small buffet and a choice of cooked breakfasts. One suggestion - the restaurant serves excellent food however last order is at nine, a bit too early for people enjoying a late evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odettefalzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.6 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Hotel

Property: The City Hotel
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Dunfermline, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing