We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Clubhouse - CLOSED

The Clubhouse
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Clubhouse is Fife's premiere bar and brasserie! We cater for everyone in our relaxed, comfortable surroundings. Enjoy quality, freshly made food from our breakfast, lunch or evening brasserie menu's, complimented by fantastic decor and service to match!The Clubhouse bar provides the perfect place to catch up with friends, we play host to regular live music and have a huge range of premium brand wines, spirits, and an extensive cocktail menu to suit every taste!Whether it's a celebration for a large group, a family meal or a romantic evening for 2, The Clubhouse in Dalgety Bay has long established itself as the place to be!
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked the clubhouse for a family anniversary last Saturday and inspite of some of the negative comments i'd read I was delighted by both the level of service and quality of food.

The stafff were very accomodating to special requests from my family and nothing was too much trouble, the resturant was very busy and althought there was a slight wait for the food, I dont mind that when you know it is fresh food you are getting and the quality was excellent.

I regularly eat out and i'm often on trip advisor and can honeslty say I rarely leave such positive comments

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ryan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Been here before and it was ok? then, but visited last friday 2nd august
Shocking is probably a better discription, service was slow / poor
Meals came out staggered, ie, 2 meals came out then the other two ten minutes later.
Plates were left empty on table for 10 mins as were empty drinks glasses.
Obviously they weren't interested in up selling??
We were asked for our views in which my son gave it to them straight in a polite manner
When the bill was brought to the table they half heartedly apologised and indicated they had taken a percentage off the final bill.
Generally the place is ok but i would avoid the weekends as they do appear to be geared up for a busy shift.
Probably wont visit again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank cpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Arrived to a full restaurant , seated quickly and drink order taken to which we waited 10 minutes to be brought to our table . A further 45minutes waited for the main courses to which was brought out in stages . The chicken was over cooked which wasn't the biggest deal however we are used to so much better standards on quieter days , it's understandable for service to be longer on busy days but if you want to keep people coming back this is not the way to go ! Empty plates left on table for ten minutes along with empty drinks . Left with a bad taste in my mouth !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank meanbeans121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have been to the Clubhouse various times for food and the only reason we go back time and time again is because the food is pretty good even if it is slightly overpriced. On this occasion we were both very close to just walking out (and we are both patient people) we were sat to our table and offered drinks quickly, drinks arrived and the waitress asked if we were ready to order, my partner was but i asked for another 2 minutes. We were totally forgotten about after that, she serviced pretty much everybody else but us, we waited a good 10 minutes and decided to give her 10 minutes more or we were away, after a further 8 or so minutes of waiting just to take our order she noticed us looking at us and reasling she had left us for too long she asked another member of staff to deal with us (which annoyed us even more) we told the guy we had been waiting around 20 minutes since asking for 2 minutes further, he said sorry and seemed to want to make the effort with us. Starter took a good 10-15 minutes further to come out which considerig mine was cold meat i thought this was atleast 5 minutes to long, main course was served a good bit quicker and the food was good. Once we had finished our main we seemed to have been forgotten about again, our 3 waitress/waiter of the night asked if we wanted a desert to which we quickly ordered, again the food was good. To avoid any further delay we both got up and headed to the bar to pay for the food, £54 for a three course meal with soft drinks for 2 people and the night was pretty much ruined by the waiting. We have always went back but this time it will take a pretty good offer to get me to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tried to have a meal at the Clubhouse two weeks ago on a Saturday night. Although the place was moderately busy there were plenty of empty tables. Surly waitress approached and asked us if we had a reservation. When we said no she said there was a 40 minute wait. We have been there a few times before but our last visit will definitely be our last.

    • Service
1  Thank Notavailable-156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn S, General Manager at The Clubhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review The Clubhouse, however it's unfortunate that you didn't take the time to review any of your past experiences, the service or the food.

In regards to your visit last Saturday, I apologise that you weren't able to get a table. Please keep in mind that the weekends are our busiest periods, and although there may have been tables sitting free these will have been reserved tables awaiting customers.
We will always try and accommodate everyone which is why we have our sofa area's for people to sit and enjoy a drink if we don't have a table available straight away. In the case that you are limited on time I would always advise phoning ahead to book your table to avoid disappointment.

I hope to welcome you back to The Clubhouse soon.

Kind regards,

Siann Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clubhouse also viewed

Limekilns, Dunfermline
 
Rosyth, Dunfermline
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing