We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”

Cook's Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Cook's Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Grangemouth
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Home to award winning chefs, Cook's Bar & Kitchen in Grangemouth showcases excellent contemporary British cuisine with an international twist. Boasting a wealth of locally sourced ingredients, Cook's serves regional specialties like supreme of chicken, haggis croquette, fondant potato & creamed neeps. Set within a 19th century coach house, Cook's is perfected by its rustic stone floor and chic bar area.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Friendly staff, prompt service even when busy and food piping hot. We ate here two nights while staying at the Grange Manor Hotel, prices are very good and menu very varied.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fussytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    134
    65
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lunched here with a friend. Reasonable choice, good service, pleasant surroundings. Quite busy,(Friday lunchtime)
Our drinks order of Appletise and Budweiser not fulfilled.....bar was out of both. We chose alternatives.
Food nicely presented and we did not wait long.
Only niggle, apart from drinks order,..bread served with soup was not wonderful..and the butter was too cold to spread.
Small details but it means no 5 star award, just 4 stars.

(Thought the prices on the main menu were a bit steep, but our lunch was good value,from £8.95 menu)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGY482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A touch of class, without the hefty price tag”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This restaurant offers a full and comprehensive menu, something for every palate; even the fussiest eater would find something they liked. The restaurant is well laid out with smaller tables for 2 or four, or bigger, round tables for up to 8, although the staff are happy to move the furniture around on demand! The staff are probably the best thing about the restaurant, being friendly, efficient and knowledgeable, happy to discuss any aspect of the menu with you.

The silverwear was gleaming and the wine/water glasses had been highly polished - not a trace of a thumb print anywhere! Service was quick but you didn't feel rushed, and there were several 'specials' on offer over and above the large menu. Food quality was absolutely first class; presentation was that of a Michelin star restaurant, and everything we ordered was a delight. Four of us ordered starters and mains, with 2 also ordering dessert; the bill (including soft drinks) came to under £80 which, for the quality of food we got was pretty amazing.

I would highly recommend this place and I will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mizliz_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great menu which changes regularly, great friendly service. We would highly recommend the restaurant and the adjacent Grange Manor hotel, which we just spent Hogmanay at, and was brilliant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline N Ia... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Discovered by chance”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I were looking for somewhere to have lunch and wanted to go somewhere different. He thought he had seen a place on this road but wasn't sure so we went to investigate.

When we arrived I thought we were going to a Wetherspoon type place, how wrong was I. Initially planning just a sandwich we went for the 2 course special for £10.95 (not the £8.95 advertised outside). The food was lovely, freshly prepared and we felt great value for money.

Lots of different options on the main menu you could have something small or a big blow out.

Staff where lovely and I would strongly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Grangemouth, Falkirk District
Grangemouth, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Cook's Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing