We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking group”
Review of The Milk Barn

The Milk Barn
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Falkirk
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Icecream Parlour and Cafe, serving light lunches and delicious ice cream
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“walking group”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

everything is great - a good base for walks in the area and a light refreshment, the ice cream is superb

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SoniaMcLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    63
    27
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful place that serves good honest food and amazing ice cream”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We visited later on in the day and were greeted by cheery staff who were very pleased to serve us and make us welcome. This was our first visit but won't be our last. A jewel in falkirks crown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank miranda1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Ice Cream!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Been back to The Milk Barn as the ice cream is amazing! Kids love it - defo worth a visit. Plenty seating in cafe and lovely views.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream, but, sweet baby Jesus, the service is appalling!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Well, first of all the good: the ice cream is amazing. A huge and changing variety of flavours - creme egg was on offer when I visited - and totally delicious.
But then, the bad and the ugly! I have never been to such a chaotic, badly organised place in my life (and that includes visits to India). I know it was the Easter holidays, although I did hope that arriving after 4pm it might have quietened down a bit, but I think that waiting 40 minutes for five ice-creams to take away was a bit much, particularly as there were no more than about 8 people ahead of me in the queue hen I arrived, some of whom were together . Not that I got so much as an apology of the blank-faced teenager who served me. Actually, when I think about it, all the staff that were there seemed to be about 15, which was probably half the problem. Calling it organised chaos would be doing it a favour. Which was a shame as the ice-cream, when we finally got it, was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank gillmac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Everyone loves it”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

So quirky, Milk cans for seats and buckets for light shades as well as a milking cow for the kids to have a try. ice cream is made on the premises and is just so good. Home made food and a good choice for children and adults.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milk Barn also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Milk Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing