We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The type of local place that should be supported”

Johnston's Bar Bistro
Ranked #3 of 175 Restaurants in Falkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Johnston's Bar - Bistro Open 7 days a week from 9:30am Large comfortable family friendly lounge, modern contemporary spacious bar & mezzanine restaurant Fresh coffee and loose tea with freshly baked cakes to sit in or take away, Breakfast, Freshly prepared food served daily along with a large selection of wines from around the world, local craft beers and world beers, spirits & soft drinks.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The type of local place that should be supported”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Went for my daughters 18th birthday and almost had the place to ourselves. Great selection of food and excellent service. We got a 20% off voucher as we had been a few days ago and this turns very good value for money into unbelievable value. Food was so good I felt I had to congratulate the chef who told me that everything was made on the premises,including the bread.
This is a great example of a locally owned business providing good value food at great value and deserves to be supported.
Top tip: don't have a starter cos the portions are huge: well done Johnstons

Helpful?
2 Thank FalkirkBairnStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    111
    34
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New Eatery”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited with two friends. Pleasantly surprised with new r-furbishment. Very friendly staff, Good menu and acceptable prices. I had hoped to go back but not had the oppotunity yet. Will be back one day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine4070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what falkirk needs”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Johnston's bistro is first class both in service and quality of food that is being served, we have eaten here often since it opened and never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“SLOW service...”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked in as a table for 8 and were seated all together upstairs. It seemed to take an age to be asked for drinks and almost half an hour to receive them all!
We were served by 3 different people and because of this there was confusion.
We all ordered food and it was ok, nothing special. I had a turkey burger, there was not sauce at all on this therefore turkey burger and bun was chocking-ly dry.
We had to keep calling on the waitress for more (soft or hot) drinks, to order food and to order desert. We all got the impression that we were a burden for the waiting staff as they seemed really unwilling to serve us and also extremely unhappy and unhelpful - such as walking away mid-drink order. Not once were we asked if we needed anything else or were happy with our orders.
I'd go back for a quick bite to eat but not in a group or for a sepcial occasion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Falkirk_Tiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit - new owners and cracking food!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have visited 3 times now and every time the experience was delightful. The pieces of tablet/fudge served with coffee/tea is gorgeous, I would make the effort to go just for that! Portions are generous and the food is obviously home made and superb quality.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluehills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston's Bar Bistro also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Johnston's Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing