We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not excellent”
Review of Amodo Mio

Amodo Mio
Ranked #9 of 171 Restaurants in Falkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family ran italian restaurant in the heart of falkirk town centre, we provide fresh italian food with a modern twist.From private dining to a family night out we can cater for all!We can also provide gluten free dishes and child size portions , join the family.... Tanti baci
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went for dinner with friends on a Saturday night. I'll start with the positives..... The waiters were very attentive; atmosphere was great; cleanliness was perfect and the menu was extensive but not exhaustive. Unfortunately there were a few negatives..... Our table was right up at the bar area where they also wash the glasses, the water hits you on occasion as well as theyre doing this - not the best location; the food was good but not excellent - i had bruschetta which was lovely but the chicken stroganoff was very bland and required a lot of seasoning, the rice was also like risotto rice and a lot more soggy; last but not least the seevice was exceptionally slow - very, very long wait between courses ...... 40mins between starter and main course!!!! I would return but not for a while. Sorry Amodo Mio x

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chamed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    95
    32
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Were hoping for a little bit more”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited last month and had heard mixed reviews (not just trip advisor but from close friends) - most of the negatives were to do with service and not the food. So, a bit hesitant but always like to experience things first hand. No complaints from our party re the service and all staff encountered were pleasant - but definitely misses the banter you get from the staff in e.g. Antonios. The soup was nice, king prawns lovely and the bruschetta was average. The mains were similar - lasagne reported to be lovely, pizza average, and the risotto average but definitely needed seasoning. Desert was waffles and with caramel sauce which again was reported as ok but just average.

Was hoping to have something a little different on the menu's so felt that Amodo Mio doesn't really stand out. If you're after a standard Italian restaurant then give it a go. Doubt I'd return for dinner but maybe for a lunch. Just like a lot of my reviews say - Falkirk just repeats itself again and again with restaurants and fails to stand out...get the train to Edinburgh for the real deal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and lovely Italian food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited Amodo Mio with friends last night. This is a new and much needed restaurant in Falkirk.
The staff were exceptionally efficient and very friendly.I am allergic to dairy foods and this can often be a problem when eating out. This was not a problem to the chef.
The food was excellent.We shared the antipasti starter for 4.It was so fresh and nicely presented.We were not rushed and allowed to graze at our own pace. I ordered the chilli prawns to follow as I did not feel like a main course.The prawns were so tasty.They are normally served in the shell but I asked for the shells to be removed as I thought that it would be a messy task to shell prawns which were covered in sauce. The 3 pasta main courses were all different and looked superb.
The restaurant is small and when full can look very busy.It was very busy and a bit noisy last night and not short on atmosphere.Well done Amodo Mio !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidi070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“return visit- still great”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Best italian in town, great staff, service and fod, crowded when busy and lunch menu isnt amazing but all forgiveable

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gambit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tasty”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Sat night with friends. Food was excellent. Service was quick but not too rushed. Cocktails were great . We will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staggies01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amodo Mio also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Amodo Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing