We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Tea Jennys

Tea Jennys
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Falkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run business. Dedicated to serving high quality food, with a unique and cosy ambiance. Our highly trained staff are friendly and will do their utmost to make your experience the best it could be!Open: Mon-Friday.9Am-4pm Sat.9Am-5pm Sun.10Am-4pm
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We found this nice little place by accident and it looked very inviting so we stopped for lunch.

As it was a lovely sunny day we chose one of the outdoor tables. The waitress was out with menus very promptly and gave us a few minutes before coming for our order. The waitress was very bubbly and quite chatty. The menu had a good selection of items to choose from we chose granary bread sandwiches and a side of fries.

The sandwiches were lovely, freshly made and plenty of filling. The fries were OK. The service was good.

The only negative was the drinks, we ordered Frappuccino's expecting them to be frozen ones like the main high street vendors provide. Unfortunately there was no similarity and I didn't drink mine as it was not to my taste and my companion only had a small drink of hers. When the waitress cleared our plates she asked if there was anything wrong with the drinks and I explained the reason we had not drunk them.

I was very surprised that we were not offered anything else instead and also surprised we were charged for both drinks on our bill.

I would have expected as a goodwill gesture to have been offered substitute drinks or not to have been charged for the original drinks.

Apart from this everything else was very nice and we would return but would be more selective when ordering drinks next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ScottyLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyolox, Owner at Tea Jennys, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and food but have to apologise that your drinks did not come up to your expectations. We always want our customers to leave happy but there seems to have been a breakdown in communication somewhere on this occasion as we would always offer an alternative or deduct it from your bill. Our Frappes are in fact iced cappuccinos, which means they have a double shot of coffee and are blended with ice, milk and a syrup of your choice. As a token gesture, please come in and we will either refund you or offer you drinks on the house! Thank you once again, your feedback is important to us. Tea Jennys Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 465 of 717 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Was meeting a friend for lunch today and having heard about Tea Jenny's, decided to give it a try. So glad we did. Extensive menu, lovely fresh food and excellent service. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyolox, Owner at Tea Jennys, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review! You just can't beat catching up on all the gossip over a huge slice of cake, can you! We hope you plan on coming back again soon where we look forward to giving you a warm welcome once again. Thank you once again for your kind review. Tea Jennys Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Mum and I went into tea jenny's for lunch last Wednesday whilst shopping in Falkirk. Quite a few of my friends had been and recommended it highly, we had never been so we decided instead of our usual haunt for lunch, we would try it> I must admit we were not disappointed, it was lovely, good choice of menu, lovely friendly staff who were very attentive, nothing any bother, presentation off the food and of course the china tea cup and saucer which my mum adored. This was our first visit but will definitely not be our last!! Very very enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RhonaG1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyolox, Owner at Tea Jennys, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

We are so pleased you and your mum enjoyed your first visit to Tea Jennys and hope there will be many more in the future. There's something on our menu for any time of day so no matter what time, pop in where we will always be happy to see you! Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, it is greatly appreciated. Tea Jennys Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I am normally a HUGE fan of Tea Jennys. I have visited about 3 times a month for quite a while now, but on our last couple of visits we felt let down. Our coffees were luke warm, the breakfast was below average and the waitress seemed very cold with us and slammed our menus and orders down on the table. We felt very uncomfortable, almost as if we shouldn't be there annoying the waitress! It is such a shame because we used to feel really very welcome and the atmosphere used to be so friendly. Unfortunately it has put us off going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank ella201290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyolox, Owner at Tea Jennys, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We are extremely disheartened and upset after reading your review. It has always been our top priority to give our customers the best quality in food, service and experience and we have obviously let you down on your latest visits. We are of course looking into what has happened and have contacted you privately to get all the information we can in order to ensure this never happens again. We offer you our deepest apologies and hope you do return again to receive the usual Tea Jenny welcome and standards. Tea Jennys Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Love it here. Recommended by a friend last year and we eat here about 3 times a month. Loads of choice and lovely tea and coffee. Friendly staff. You should go :-D

Thank looby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xyolox, Owner at Tea Jennys, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate all the feedback. It won't be long before you will have even more choice when we offer another menu next door...what a quandary! But we will promise the same high standards in food and service, that's for sure! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thanks once again for spreading the word! Tea Jennys Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Jennys also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Tea Jennys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing