We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumo Noodle Bar

Sumo Noodle Bar
Ranked #13 of 168 Restaurants in Falkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bootle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was visiting my brother and niece in Stirling while it was her birthday, this was her choice and I am glad it was, they are frequent visitors and this being my first time I wanted to tell you all about it.
A busy little bar tucked away in Falkirk and unless you knew how good the food was you could miss it. Very casual, for all occasions and very child friendly. The service was excellent, the food was good and plenty of it. The soup looked amazing, I shall have that next time. The noodles were beautifully cooked with plenty of meat and fish, nice wine too. We all enjoyed it, even the birthday cake surprise!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Berni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    81
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

One of my fave places, tho when I first started eating here the food was a lot better, when it changed some of the food wasn't the same, my favorite pork pancake rolls are not as good, very little pork in them now where as before it was all pork, the pork they use in dishes isn't as nice either so I avoid any pork dishes, all other food is lovely tho and really fresh, my kids love eating here too

Helpful?
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I've been going here for years now and in my opinion it's one of the best places to eat in Falkirk. I get the same thing every time from the set lunchtime menu - chicken yakkatori, which is brilliant (although they stopped putting the amazing coleslaw style stuff on the side a while back) and a huge chicken ramen bowl with a mild chilli base. I've yet to manage finishing the bowl. The staff are very attentive and friendly and its excellent value. If your looking for swanky restaurant surrounding though - this place isn't for you - It's authentic Japanese cafe style, where your seated on wooden picnic type benches. I've tried Wagamama's and other noodle places out of town - but Sumo Noodle wins hands down :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillcr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is the best takeaway in Falkirk. Food great, price competitive and speed of delivery first class. Do not know about sitting in as only been once but takeaway even on a Saturday evening is brilliant

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I've been going to Sumo with my family since it opened. For the first few years it was excellent with great food and a great atmosphere, but in the last couple of years it has definitely gone downhill.

The Sake Nigiri now has a slice of salmon so thin it could be smoked salmon. The food isn't anywhere near as tasty as it used to be, it's missing something, almost like it was out of a packet, whereas before you could tell it had been well prepared.

It's a shame, as this place used to rival Ichiban in Glasgow, but now it's nothing special. My kids still like it so I'll probably be back again, as I was today, but I won't be looking forward to it like I used to.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo Noodle Bar also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to Sumo Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing