We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but oh my god the singer!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Banca

La Banca
Ranked #77 of 169 Restaurants in Falkirk
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value but oh my god the singer!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went with another couple. The service was pretty friendly and fairly prompt.
Cant say anything bad about the food. The portions were fairly good and the quality was good, the seafood had been cooked very well.

HOWEVER....we were visiting falkirk for a wedding so maybe not sure of how this place works however at around 9pm a singer appeared. It was hideous - no harm to the girl but she wasn't amazing and the volume was more than intrusive. People actually left, you could barely hear yourself. I felt so sorry for the folk who had just ordered food.

We would return but not on a weekend evening if this is standard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    24
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels
Level Contributor
139 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pedro Galashiels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice comfortable seating in a big Spanish theme bar, Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Great way to try Spanish food if you have not had it before with their 5 tapas for 2 priced @ just £10 menu. The Main menu is also well priced and has a large choice

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro-Galashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pre cinema meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Not a patch on when visited earlier in year..sangria could be a tad stronger. not impressed with
garlic butter dips(not very spanish?)
staff were pleasant but seemed out of sorts as wasnt too busy @19:00hrs.
slightly disappointed

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank banski33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good idea that fell flat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was part of a party of 40 booked into a private room, seated a 2 very cramped long tables. We paid £30 for a 2 course meal plus 2 cocktails, including a cocktail making class. The first course turned out to be bread and dips - garlic mayo and oil and vinegar. We had 2 dessert plates of dip for a whole table of 20 and had to ask for more of both items. The tapas were tasty and varied but again not plentiful and we had to pass each dish around all 20 people. The cocktail class then started. The waiter was very knowlegeable but we struggled to hear him, he would have benefitted from a PA system and a bit of help. He demonstrated 9 different cocktails but only worked with around 4 people each time so you can do the maths and work out how long all that took! He ran out of ice and glasses and the strawberry mojito became a pineapple one. The order for the second cocktail was taken at 11.15 (we started at 7.30) and my taxi was booked for 11.30 so one of my local friends got the benefit of that! I liked the idea of this package but it needs much better planning and organisation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dollarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

For a reasonably quick and inexpensive lunch this was good value. £10 for 2 people to share 5 tapas dishes was ok. The couple we were with had salads and enjoyed them. With only a few other tables taken the atmosphere wasn't brilliant, but it was a Wednesday in Falkirk :-). Service was good and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StirlingDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Banca also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to La Banca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing