We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but lacked a bit in taste”
Review of La Banca

La Banca
Ranked #74 of 171 Restaurants in Falkirk
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Ok but lacked a bit in taste”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This review is only in my opinion. The restaurant was clean and set out well. Menu not varied as I thought it would have been compared to other tapas restaurants I've been to. Service was good and food delivered within 15 mins. Presentation was ok but the food lacked the taste I have experienced elsewhere. I won't say I wouldn't go back but I would prob prefer to head not Edinburgh first. Got to say tho the cocktail list looked amazing although a bit pricey at £6.75 each! Ok for a special occasion tho ;0)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    24
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food bland”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food was bland and tasteless which was surprising as it's a tapas bar. The bar is nice and music nights are good fun pity the food is such a let down

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coffee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night out and food”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been to La Banca a few times since it has been taken over, I went to the relaunch night and had a lovely meal and stayed till closing trying out the cocktail menu, the place as very busy but we were still given excellent service. Last weekend I took my daughters for dinner dressed in their Spanish dresses I bout on opening night. The staff couldn't have been nicer and really attentive to the girls. The meal was again delicious and worth every penny. Would definitely recommend La Banca if you like quality food and drink, it may be slightly more expensive than other bars in Falkirk but is worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbird_29_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWSOME”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had the most amazing dinner at La Banca food was fantastic and the cocktails well they were just the best iv had, Staff were so friendly and welcoming, the restaurant was busy and still the staff were relaxed and always smiling, we will be Returning to La Bancas on a regular basis,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazz280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very Poor Food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have eaten in this tapas restaurant many times and the food has always been fine, good for a quick lunch with friends. It has however recently changed hands and having eaten there this week I will not be back.

The bread served as a starter with olive oil balsamic was stale.

The pork was tough and indelible, the "sherry cream sauce" tasted like pure vinegar. The Spanish black pudding was rubbery (always been very pleasant before)

The pattaes bravas were more like soggy chips and had no spice or flavour

The manchego and Serrano ham burger was also tough.

All in all the only good thing was the pleasant waitress.

In spite of everyone at the table leaving almost full plates of food and explaining why, we were charged the full amount.

The place was almost empty which is unusual but now I understand why. One to avoid unless the standards improve to what they were before.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Egglesbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Banca also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to La Banca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing