We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”
Review of Iris

Iris
Reserve with OpenTable
Iris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #107 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Tucked away on Thistle Street, Iris has been a welcome addition to the Edinburgh restaurant scene. This chic little bistro - with its designer wallpaper, banquette seating and rough stone walls – has an intimate, cosmopolitan vibe, and is popular with a discreet and sophisticated creative crowd. The modern European menu is guaranteed to impress, we love the roast duck breast with fresh raspberries and Drambuie; chicken supreme stuffed with langoustines served with a garlic and herb buerre blanc; and the roasted quail with spicy potatoes served with an orange and rocket salad. Ideal for stylish working lunches, and informal evening meals, Iris also has an extensive wine list with up to 17 bottles for under £20.
london england
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Quite good”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate here several times last year and enjoyed its efficiency and tasty, inexpensive lunch menu. This year the food was not quite so good, and the service was a little strained but nonetheless I recommend the place as above average and pleasant, tucked away from various festival venues.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    161
    44
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food but not a fan of the extra costs.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

One of the best things about this restaurant was the choice of starters and main courses. I think I would have quite happily eaten nearly everything that was offer. Unfortunately the price of the main courses don't include any vegetables or any other type of side. These have to be ordered separately at extra cost. To be honest when I am paying £15-£20 for a main course, I don't expect to have to pay extra for a side.

The service was a little slow at times but to be fair it is Festival time so that can be forgiven and overall everything was fine. I would like to try again outwith the Festival but won't be rushing back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardyward5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The Iris a little gem of a restaurant in Thistle Street, Edinburgh.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

You can easily miss the Iris walking along Thistle Street. Its very unassuming exterior belies an interior where you find the gem of a restaurant in a street of other very good restaurants.
On a busy Saturday night, the ambience was lovely and the staff attentive, friendly, and efficient, giving us knowledgeable advice on the menu and wines.
We started with the Special Fishcake and Scallops both of which were excellent. For main course we opted for the Lemon sole and the Ribeye Steak both of which were cooked to perfection.
We finished off with a delicious selection of cheese followed by real Italian style espresso coffees.
With the excellent service and quality of food delivered from the kitchen in The Iris and the reasonable prices for food and wine, this is a must visit for anyone who enjoys good food.
Probably better to book to avoid the disappointment of not getting a table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_brown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice food, service a little on the slow side”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was great when it arrived (although one diner's order had been mis-heard so there was a delay in her starter arriving). The place was busy and staff were pretty stretched but I'd come again as the choice of food and the quality is pretty good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NixEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great food....”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

....if a little over fussy than I normally like. However taste was really good - pork belly starter and lemon sole main were delicious. Pièce de résistance was the chocolate beetroot cake with cardamom cream - so light and so moreish - I wolfed it down!

Service was ok and friendly - just hard to get their attention sometime as the restaurant is busy. Decor very relaxing. Overall a nice experience and would visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roos1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iris also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing