We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf and Turf fantastic!”

Mussel and Steak Bar
Ranked #134 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surf and Turf fantastic!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We found this restaurant by chance as we were walking around Grass market. We had hoped to eat in the Leith Docks area but were pushed for time. We were not disappointed. Between the three of us we had oysters which were super fresh, haggis Wellington, mussels in whisky, cream and bacon sauce, chips in beef dripping and rump steak mmm...delish. We couldn't manage a pudding. We ate upstairs in an air conditioned room which was most welcome as it was stifling outside! Yes even in Edinburgh! Staff were friendly too. The menu was well priced. We will certainly be calling back the next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tibbycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,161
    587
    139
    51
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bsth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit if you like mussels.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great staff, great mussels, good steak, average seafood grill. If you like mussels, this is the place, they are fantastic. The seafood grill and the queen scallops (starter) were disappointing in both their cooking and presentation. Steaks were tender and tasty. Food on the expensive side and a simple but we'll chosen wine list was reasonably priced. All brought together by great service. We would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fair Prices”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We ate here our second night as we had no reservation the first night. We made a reservation for the second night and had a lovely meal. The mussels in whiskey, cream and bacon rock!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibum62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Great mussels"”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Mussel and steak restaurant over looking the Grassmarket.We had the window table but extensive roadworks were being carried out.Went for the mussels as a speciality and they were excellent.Service was ok at best,I had a steak with my mussels which was just lumped of top of them-difficult to eat it on a bed of shells.Wines a bit too expensive relative to the food.I think this is one of those places which just seem to work better at lunchtime-plus the set menu looks very good value for money.Dinner gets 3 stars but lunch would probably merit 4 for value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better Places to Eat”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We ate here for the first time and it will be the last time. We went for lunch, I ordered the surf and turf and my wife had the fillet steak. Or so we thought! When it arrived the meat, though cut like a fillet, was actually a cut of rump. It was so tough it was inedible. We returned it and was told that the chef (if they were indeed a chef) picked up the wrong cut of meat by accident. Hmmm!
My surf and turf was ok though being served 4 closed mussels is unacceptable, despite what the waiter thought. They did at least change the food and alter our bill and the service was mostly pleasant. The prices charged here are way too high for the standard of food offered.
We would not recommend eating here. There are far better places to eat in Edinburgh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel and Steak Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel and Steak Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing