We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Mussel and Steak Bar
Ranked #134 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I read all the positive reviews of this restaurant before I left for Edinburgh and made a reservation. I was with a CIE tour and ended up going there with three other couples. I had mussels and scallops that were wonderful. It was a nice change from the "pub" style food I had during the past two weeks. Some of the group had the steak and they loved it too. The service was great also. it did get a little warm inside, so dress appropriately. It was very easy to find at one end of the grassmarket and near my hotel. It's a keeper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    587
    139
    51
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of lewis, scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This resturant was recommended by our taxi driver and he was spot on. We were squeezed in as very but Delicious choices and food. Waiting staff friendly and attentive without being over powering. Would highly recommend (apart for vegetarians!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice steak”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was good value for money and tasted quite nice. Was slightly overcooked but not massively so. Would go again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank n0way_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
183 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“read my comment bellow”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

In fact, I did not eat there, but I wanted! :-)
The place was full and the food looked really great. I've tried to get an order, but I had to wait. They had a sitting list that was over 40min! I did not have that much time to spare, but again... it looked GREAT so if you want it, plan yourself ahead of time and good luck! I wish I had more time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gilvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Mi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cool concept, better food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although Mussels are a Scottish thing, most of the versions we tried were variously bathed in heavy cream sauces that overwhelmed the mussels. They offered mussel bowls in a variety of clever sauce / spice combinations. Very tasty Wife's steak was good, in the context of European beef. They even hit the medium rare correctly. Staff was excellent and manager quite involved and active.
If you are looking for a decent alternative to the ubiquitous and largely indistinguishable pub-grub make a stop here

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Axel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel and Steak Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel and Steak Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing