We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Mussel and Steak Bar
Ranked #119 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant to have dinner on a crowded saturday night during the fringe festival, this restaurant was completely full but we decided to wait for a place outside. We were lucky that a couple of tables got free within 20 minutes. The meal was great we all had the rump steak which was one of the best I ever had except for my hubby who had the mussels also superb.
The waiter, a local guy with blue eyes was very friendly and very helpful, we also had the view on the fireworks coming probably from the castle while we were eating. What can you ask more? Is a shame Edinburgh is not close to London :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveGraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    569
    131
    49
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited Aug Bank Holiday for lunch (actually it wasn't BH in Scotland). Staff were friendly, foods were good, set menu was quite reasonable.

My seafood curry was too salty but had lots of mussels & rice was tasty. Mussel & steak were both good. I loved their kids' menu as it was just smaller portion of adult menu. I loved it as kids can enjoy proper food and not fish fingers & pizza. Soup & bread for £1 is just fab!

Nothing wrong with the place, it is a good restaurant, but not exceptional. Now-sadly-closed Creelers, just off Royal Mile, was better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amelia_890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Had the special lunch menu. Could only manage 2 courses was so full! Amazing quality and value. Lovely food, the starters are amazing. Top notch highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badger789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Fife
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great meal, great price - I'd go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my hubby, our friend and our 4 yr old son.
Menu choice excellent and great value for money. Kids menu was the same.
We had fixed lunch menu and all were happy with selection. Staff very friendly and great with kids which is important to me.
Quick service, my hubby had seafood curry and his only criticism was they should have took out muscles from shells, less sauce and smaller portion. It tasted great though.
We will all defo be back. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good family grub during edinburgh fringe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

August is always a busy time in this part of Edinburgh. Second visit during the festival and while busy they made space for 4 in a few minutes. Had a great meal and service was brilliant. While it was busy we were not rushed and did three courses then tea/coffee. Really hearty meal. Would strongly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrie_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel and Steak Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mussel and Steak Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing