We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mexican restaurant in Old town”
Review of Pancho Villa's

Pancho Villa's
Ranked #483 of 2,506 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $20 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice mexican restaurant in Old town”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Location at canongate near the royal mile, small restaurant with great variety of mexican food, the portions are quit big and the Food was excellent, small tables, not a place for a romantic dinner, the staff is very friendly,the atmosphere was very busy due the Restaurant was full on that evening, the cost effectiveness is perfect

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    158
    63
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty good Mexican”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We kind of took a chance here. We're from Texas so we know good Mexican and you wouldn't really expect to find it in Scotland. But we were surprised. The food was very flavorful. The atmosphere of the place is nice; upbeat, kind of an after-work, happy-hour feel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Layla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A really good Mexican restaurant! Most of the mexican restaurants I have been to are chain ones, and can often be very stodgy! However this was great, the fajitas were very tasty and had plenty of meat! It could have done with more or slightly bigger tortillas, they were quite small after all, but then I could have order more (but would have paid for them!). And extras like cheese (didnt come as standard) are charged for and the cheese was not cheap!

Would go back again though!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWLAW
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

great Mexican food never had better apart from when in Mexico.!! wine bit expensive for what it is , but food a good price, good menu nice little restaurant, been twice but will return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisatowlaw1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican't”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Really awful food. I had the vegetarian platter for starters which i shared with my partner. The food was way overly spicy and the chilli rellenos were undercooked and near raw. Lacked the subtle spicing and flavour of good mexican food and destroyed my palate.For my main i had the enchiladas with the "spicy chocolate sauce" i have had this type of dish before and enjoyed it when done well but this was inedible. The sauce was grainy and tasted just of burnt chocolate with zerp spicing. The filling was overcooked, plain chicken.
My partner had the pork tacos with "fresh" pineapple ( very obviously out of a tin) and the pork was horrifically oily but edible at least. I sent back my enchiladas and hry were taken off the bill.

We shared a pitcher of strawberry margarita which i have to say was excellent.

If you want good mexican in edinburgh i would avoid this place. Everything seems microwaved as it was brought out to us withing 3 minutes of ordering. And 3 minutes of clearing our starters. Theres fast cooked food then theres "fast food"

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran_milne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho Villa's also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Pancho Villa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing