We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible host!”
Review of Kismot

Kismot
Ranked #57 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Wee Family run Indian and Bangladeshi restaurant.Mum and Dad cooking with the kids at the front of house.Bring your own bottle (no corkage charge, wine and beer only)Food cooked and served with alot of love and affection.Try our mums homestyle cooking chicken and lamb on the bone (what we have for dinner at home !) Dont forget the chocolate nan bread and other dishe's only available at our place my friends ! ! ! :)Open every day 4.30pm to 11.30pm
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible host!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

After inadvertently crushing the managers own mother in the door behind me as I walked in, I was greeted with a joke or two and a warm welcome. Absolutely first class host made some great suggestions for a pair of first timers, and even made my partner something that wasn't on the menu! The quality of food was superb, and with the service too, made a great evening in a beautiful city. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akbar a, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
OMG ! !

I remember you ! my mother does too !

It was some entrance to a place to eat by nearly crushing my mum as you walked in :)

It was a pleasure to have you both round and means alot to hear how you enjoyed my mum and dads cooking so much, it was a pleasure to have helped you decide on your dinner and I was happy to get my mum and dad to cook a dish that was not on the menu.

Thank you again for such a kind review.

Look forward to seeing you guys next time, just dont hurt my mum again please ;)

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,618
    265
    95
    54
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thanks to the other reviews we visited Kismot on Bank Holiday Monday evening, and weren't disappointed. Akbar welcomed us as his 'pals from Ireland' and was good craic and very attentive. Food was very tasty and generous portions. Our young daughter enjoyed trying all the different flavours. Hope to be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulster_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akbar a, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello there !

Thank you so much for your kind review, I remember you and you lovely family.

You were all a delight to have round and a pleasure to chat too.

Really pleased to here you enjoyed my mum and dads cooking so much and found our portions a nice size too.

Hope you and your family got home safe and sound.

Look forward to seeing you all next time your in.

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kismot was delicious and accommodating”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We walked in with no reservation during the University of Edinburgh graduation weekend. They were full of guests and extremely booked but still made room for us. The food was delicious--the best Indian we've ever tasted. Kismot certainly deserves their #1 ranking in Edinburgh--a city with many choices. It was the best meal of our 14 days in Scotland and we had some really fabulous meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBigBlue223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akbar a, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello there !

I remember you both !

You sat just near the bar, we were so happy to fit you both in (just about).

So happy to hear you found my mum and dads cooking the best indian food you ever tasted and best meal you had in the 14 day stay in Scotland.

Thank you for so much for your kind review it really means so much for all the famiy and friends that are a part of kismot.

Hope you get home safe and sound back to America.

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
226 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Definitely, it's worth it!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a great experience! The Kismot definitely worth a visit if you are in Edinburgh. The owner is without a doubt a genius, he was able to bring a very good Indian food in Scotland and at the same time to bring a little 'of Scotland in Indian cuisine. The place is spotless, well furnished and pleasant. The staff is fast, competent estremaente (it was not our case, but for those who try for the first time the Indian cuisine is easy to get lost) and polite. Prices are fair. The Kismot is a BYOB restaurant ("Bring your own bottle") this is to respect their religious beliefs (but you can bring beer and wine). As for the food: it is outstanding, everything is really good and cooked with love, as it should be in a family run business. In short, definetely the Kismot is worth a visit. There is also the chance to taste one of the hottest (spicy) curry in the world. I would want to move to Edinburgh just to make the Kismot my weekly appointment. We'll come back soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KaITrAvEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akbar a, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello there !

i remember you ! Great pictures my friend !

Before I forget to meniton, My mum and dad are the owners and my wee brother is the genius behind all the diffrent Scottish Infused curries.

All i try to is look after the customers the way I would like to be treated with a wee bit of love and affection, and a bit of respect, sometimes people need help if they have never tried indian food before and I am more then happy to help if I can.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed my mum and dads cooking so much, they work tirelessly in the kitchen to cook good food and Im so glad you found the food to your taste.

Ah the BYOB (wine and beer only) yes again you are correct we do this for religous reasons and seems to work for for everyone !.

It was a pleasure to have you round my friend you have made my whole family really happy.

Look forward to seeing you next time your in.

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Graduation Night”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a lovely night, great food and they even managed to cater to nearly 30 of us - fantastic! Service was quick quick (considering the number of us). The food was very tasty, hot and fresh when it arrived and the BYOB thing saved us all loads of money - thanks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akbar a, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello there !

Thank you so much for your kind review ! we had so many Graduation Party's this weekend and chuffed to bits that your group had such a nice evening.

Great to read that you found our service quick, it was made really easy by all your help as we had a set party menu in advance. Pleased to hear you enjoyed my mum and dads cooking so much.

The BYOB (wine and beer only) is due to religious reasons and works out for everyone !

Thank you again it was a pleasure having you all round and wish you all a wonderfull future ! and hope to see you all again.

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kismot also viewed

 

Been to Kismot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing