We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kismot

Kismot
Ranked #67 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Wee Family run Indian and Bangladeshi restaurant.Mum and Dad cooking with the kids at the front of house.Bring your own bottle (no corkage charge, wine and beer only)Food cooked and served with alot of love and affection.Try our mums homestyle cooking chicken and lamb on the bone (what we have for dinner at home !) Dont forget the chocolate nan bread and other dishe's only available at our place my friends ! ! ! :)Open every day 4.30pm to 11.30pm
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is the place to go for a great indian meal the staff are the best you won't be disappointed, you have to take your own drink but that's fine, just the best place ever thanks Akbar you're a legend!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank polisjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kismot, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello there !

Thank you so much for your kind review, its a really a pleasure to work there with my mum and dad cooking in the kitchen, pleased to hear you found our food and service was up to scratch my friend.

Look forward to seeing you all in the new year !

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,595
    264
    95
    54
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great service.........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Really enjoyed our trip for couple days and enjoyed kismot's lovely food in edinburgh. service so friendly and kismot's dishes really testy ... specially saag. we will definitely go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vcxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kismot, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello there !

Thank you so much for your kind review, really pleased to hear that you enjoyed my mum and dads cooking and thought so highly of our service.

Look forward to seeing you next time your up.

Happy New Year my friends

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Gorgeous food, lovely family run restaurant, and top notch banter! Definitely a gem in Edinburgh's city centre, and worth seeking out. We hope to go back very soon!

All the best,

Team Andrew!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilly246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kismot, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hello there ! !

I remember you your husband and his brother !

it was a busy night you had come in, Thank you so much for your kind review, you guys were fun to have round and I enjoyed your chat throughout the evening !

So pleased to read you enjoyed my mum and dads cooking so much and look forward to seeing you all soon.

Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Secret Santa party - best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Love this place, can't wait to go back. The staff was fun and the food was amazing. We had a great time - sorry we were a bit loud. Love that it is BYOB!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kismot, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hello there !

Thank you so much for your nice review.

We have had a few Christmas parties this year and you guys were just as fun as the others, so no need to apologise, you guys are welcome back anytime !

Really pleased you enjoyed the food and service and look forward to seeing you all soon.

Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Was in Edinburgh today with my girlfriend, travelling through from Glasgow. We checked where to go for food on TripAdvisor, seen the great reviews for here and decided to give it a go. We arrived without a reservation at a busy time, but were still warmly welcomed and accommodated kindly. All the staff were really friendly and seemed genuinely interested in every customer. The food was of excellent quality, as was the level of service, changing the experience from good to great, with staff making time to come over and ensure all aspects of our experience were satisfactory. It is a family run establishment and you're really made to feel part of the family with such intimate service. We will definitely make a point to go back whenever we're though in Edinburgh again. Thank you for such a great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmrfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kismot, The not so skinny Brother ! :) at Kismot, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hello there !

I remember you and your girlfriend from glasgow, I got you a table near the entrance.

Thank you so much for your kind review, everyone that visits us we try our best to give a warm family welcome, treat them like the way we would like to be treated with a wee bit of love and affection and I'm really glad you found that, its really nice to hear that you enjoyed my mum and dads cooking so much as well, they really work hard to cook the best they can.

Hope next time I can give you a nicer table and a wee bit more time for your dinner.

Hope you both have a wonderfull Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Akbar
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kismot also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kismot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing