We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a welcome stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Apartments
Ranked #219 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Was a welcome stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at The Steamworks a couple of years ago (2010)
(The other date here does not let me put 2010 so Ive marked 2011)
I was attending a friends wedding in Edinburgh.
The room was nice n warm very clean, with a very hospitable welcome found on the door when I arrived.
I loved the atmosphere of the place and would re-visit.
Well done and hope alls going well for you in business.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I originally booked to stay for two nights, but so enjoyed the city and the accommodation that I opted to stay for an additional night. When I arrived, the standard room that I had booked was not available, so I was upgraded to an apartment at no extra charge. The rooms seem to have undergone some light renovation since the pics on their website were taken, and I found them to be better that what I had expected. Collecting the keys is from the sauna downstairs, but you are aware of that before you arrive and the place itself is really only aimed at the gay traveler. The apartment was generally very clean and well presented, especially the kitchen and bathroom, although there was a stray sock under the bed which seemed fairly visible without looking too hard, which I would have though should have been removed my the cleaners. The venue is very private and also located on a private road which benefits from free parking, extremely rare in central Edinburgh - although its a bit hard to find a parking space in working hours as the road is shared with other small businesses. There was also a small complimentary breakfast which I was not expecting and was most welcome! In general, I found Village Apartments to be excellent value, have friendly service and be very comfortable and well located! I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonMichaelJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Located in a very quiet and pleasant residential area, yet a stones throw from the centre of Edinburgh this was a great base for a long weekend stay. Yes it's above a sauna but the whole place is so tucked away down a quiet residential street it doesn't feel like it and chances are there'll be no-one around to see you heading in and out if that would bother you. Blissfully quiet at night, the room was clean, stylish and well catered with a small kitchenette and free bottled water, juice, biscuits, yoghurts and muffins. Great value all in all, with friendly check in staff too. If you're prudish about the idea of being above a gay sauna don't stay here. Otherwise for anyone looking for a well located, quiet and great value base, don't hesitate to consider this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groovin_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

For us, Village Apartments was the perfect base for our short visit to Edinburgh.

There is one review on here where there is a complaint that you have to check in through the Steamworks sauna. Not sure how they’d missed that when they booked. It is made very clear.

So what, as it's target market is the gay male traveller? It’s amazingly cheap and if the price to pay (GBP60/night) is standing next to some guy in a towel while you get your room key (remember, only once, when you arrive) then it’s a price we were more than happy to pay. The added bonus, if it's your thing, is the possible entertainment right down stairs :) We didn't partake.

Once checked in, those staying in the apartments have a separate entrance. As the building is at the end of a cul-de-sac (that is outside of the controlled traffic area) we were able to park right outside for free. Fantastic.

We stayed in the Junior Suite and although compact, we wanted for nothing. Our rate included a ‘continental ‘ breakfast, so each morning we had a yoghurt, muffin and coffee/tea to get us started. There is a street full of restaurants at the end of Broughton Market, our recommendation Nom de Plume.

Providing you have no issue checking in via the sauna, The Village Apartments is a fantastic base for gay travellers to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Me and my Fiancee stayed at Village Apartments for one night in September, apartments are located in the heart of the city centre 2 mins walk away from everything.
Village Apartments offers, value for money amazing rooms, very stylish, welcoming and everything you would need in an apartment!
The staff are very friendsly and approachable and will go out your way for you!

A continental breakfast is provided for you so you can enjoy breakfast in bed.

All you could ever need for the perfect stay in Edinburgh, myself and my partner would definately recoment this to anyone!

Thank you Village Apartments

Anthony & Alex McGrant

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ants280886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Just like to say thank you for a wonderfull stay. We were with you from 21st-25th aug in room 1. the apartment was great and have never stayed in gay area were it has been so quiet you cld hear a pin drop at night and during the day just the usuall coming and goings of cars.
The only down side we felt was the abscence of a wardrobe and full length mirror.
We found edinburgh fantastic the tattoo and theartre were great as well the whole area was buzzin with people and the atmosphere was brill.
The blue moon cafe was out of this world the food and service were fantastic.
After alot of deliberation we even tried our first sauna something we will do again ha ha.
We will be returning in the near future.
Once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turntain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

we arrived at the hotel late on the first night, we originally booked this hotel / apartment for 1 night only.....due to the excellent customer service and great staff we decided to pay for a further 2 nights.

i cannot give any feedback simply because i could NOT fault the place

ideal for both gay couples, groups or even single gay men.

this place is an absolute gem 10/10 well done to all staff

see you all soon

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONYWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#43 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#67 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Apartments

Property: Village Apartments
Address: 5 Broughton Market, Edinburgh EH3 6NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Village Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Village Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing