We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo
Open today: Closed
Save
The Royal Military Tattoo Edinburgh City Tour Rosslyn Chapel and Dinner
14

Book in advance
from
$489.88
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo
from $489.88
More Info
from $226.10
More Info
Reviews (6,691)
Filter reviews
6,691 results
Traveler rating
5,731
633
204
77
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,731
633
204
77
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lone piper bucket list massed pipes and drums military precision highland dancers spectacular event light show auld lang syne great seats royal mile performance marching performers spectacle tickets backdrop arena
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 6,691 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2019

This was the first time that I had seen the tattoo live - and it was well worth the experience to appreciate fully the scale of the entertainment and the numbers involved. Fortunately, the night I went, it actually didn't rain for once.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

The bands were great and the choir was nice as well as the dancers. The setting outside the castle was spectacular! We watched the entire performance in a torrential downpour. I'm sure we would have enjoyed it more on a beautiful night. Actually we have seen better bands at the Illinois State High School competition. Really.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Wow is the word that sums up this amazing show. From the mass pipe band, to the incredible dancers, to the guest bands and setting with fireworks, we were swept away by this event. If you are planning a trip to Edinburgh, plan it around the show times of this biggest, best, military tattoo!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

This year's Tattoo was one of the best I have been to. It's a wonderful event with amazingly talented performers. The setting on the esplanade with Edinburgh Castle as a backdrop is just breathtaking.The theme this year was Kaleidescope and the colourful projections onto the castle were fantastic. From the opening wwith the massed pipes and drums to the close with the Lone Piper playing the lament high up on the Castle ramparts to the Lone Drummer beating the tattoo I enjoyed every single minute. I'll give a mention the the performers from New Zealand - they were brilliant!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Scotslass48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

We ended a day of travel in Edinburgh with the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo--it was totally amazing.
From the opening march of the Scottish Military Bagpipers and drummers to visiting colorful military bands from New Zealand, Nigeria, Trinidad and Tobago, and China. The music is accompanied by super-talented dancers. During some performances there's a light show against the walls of Edinburgh Castle. The show closed with fireworks. If your travels bring you to Edinburgh in August don't miss this spectacular, once-in -a lifetime experience. Dress warmly, be prepared for rain and be thrilled.
Special thanks to the staff for providing assistance and seating for my wife who uses a cane for walking.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank mikefromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews