We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edinburgh International Events
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
A Great Event

A wonderful collection of art work, music, theater, street entertainment, and good food. Lots of... read more

Reviewed January 15, 2019
Jason L
,
Arroyo Grande, California
Fantastic

This was our very first visit to the fringe whilst stopping with relatives. We attended two shows... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
IanPLancashire
,
Leyland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 129 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from $474.96
More Info
from $62.07
More Info
from $22.94
More Info
from $17.54
More Info
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
112
12
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
12
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fringe festival great event street artists street entertainment military tattoo royal mile all ages comedy theatre performance acts gigs tickets buskers gilded acting audience
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 129 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

One of the most famous festivals on the world. For the entire month of August the city is transformed into a festival dedicated to the arts ; music drama dance comedy poetry music etc. It's an amazing event that draws thousands to the city. With a huge diverse programme and locations it is worth having a plan of what you want to see prior to going. There are a mixture of paid and free events, pop up bars and services and events suitable for all ages and interests. Many things need tickets and popular shows sell out fast however there are often day tickets that can be bought at the ticket offices but this can involve long queues. Accommodation during this time is expensive and hard to come by and is a nightmare for locals due to increased traffic and crowds. Many locals move out for the moth and rent their apartments. A cheaper alternative can be to stay in Glasgow and get cheap transport (about 1 hour) through to Edinburgh. Fantastic atmosphere and event that is a must if travelling in August.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank sarahdH1110RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The Edinburgh international festival is celebrated by patrons of the arts world wide. It is not uncommon to be enjoying a play and find Kevin Spacey sat next to you.
Or to find John Malkovich promoting own play.
But for me the Cavalcade simbolizes very thing that is Edinburgh's spirit with entertainment free for all in the beautiful gardens below the castle.
Make a note to yourself either as a resident or tourist Pack a ground sheet some wine and bree and then just enjoy.
Remember you do not come to Edinburgh for the weather.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 873GaryG873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016

We were in Edinburgh for the Edinburgh Festival last year and it was a wonderful experience. The streets were full of performers of all types and the atmosphere was exciting. It was very busy but always enjoyable. Bravo Edinburgh!!!
John & Gail Laney

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank GailLaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

I loved this festival so much I stayed the entire month. The city was chaotic yes and expensive yes but the atmosphere was amazing and i would definitely go back every year if possible.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank sandraorourkeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2015

We visited during the Edinburgh International festival. We thoroughly enjoyed all the offerings that we visited. The crowds were festive yet very orderly. The street performers were of high quality and some of our favourites. The street mimes were incredible and we really had to rack our brains trying to figure out some of the acts. Our only possible complaint was the cool weather as we are warm weather people. Edinburgh is a lovely city.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank travellingman1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews