We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“boring but consistent - you know what you're going to get”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #519 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Edinburgh West. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Edinburgh’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“boring but consistent - you know what you're going to get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

when in Edinburgh, I'm there twice a week - it's handy for the family. have to like the place - it's a formula that works and that's why is always busy, breakfast, lunch and supper. not for vegetarians, vegans, etc. don't go around 5pm unless you can cope with hordes of screaming brats.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsk4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    158
    78
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Typical of Toby quality..thanku...but....the staff were a bit on short supply today and slow to serve those waiting at bar!

Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. Your feedback is most useful and will be noted by everyone here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Five of us popped in for dinner after a show at Ingliston. Its a great choice if you're wanting good food quickly. After ordering our drinks we headed straight for the carvery - good quality meat on offer including beef, turkey and pork) with good selection of potatoes, vegetables, yorkshire pudding, sauces etc and really good value for money. Next time we'll remember to order any vegetarian dishes early on to avoid the carvery eaters sitting down for their dinner before the vegetarian option arrives via the waiter. The Highland waiter had great banter and left us all smiling.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Public Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we look forward to having you visit us again in the future, and we have sent you a personal reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pre One direction meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

great value for money friendly staff what more do you want my daughter didn't like anything available so staff made sure she got loads of sausages & bread was a great meal before the concert :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Public Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see positive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor/Average Carvery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Good Points:
- Cheap (expect on Sunday)
- All you can eat veg
- ability to fill yourself to bursting point

Bad Points:
- Very, very slow service (once waited an 45min for the bill after asking 4 times)
- You will be given a slither of dry meat which could have been sitting out for quite some time
- Veg is over cooked, bland and will be left sitting out for quite a while
- Cringe worthy sights guaranteed: this is a all-you-can-eat where the idea seems to be to load up the plate with as much as you can without it falling off (the 'large' portion plates are the size of a plate you would use for the family xmas turkey).

Other Points
- plenty of tables but usually gets busy at dinner time

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Carvery R, Public Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing